2018 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix interactive data: lap charts, times and tyres

2018 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Posted on

| Written by

Kimi Raikkonen’s retirement was well-timed for race leader Lewis Hamilton.

The Virtual Safety Car period prompted by the Ferrari driver’s electrical failure gave Hamilton enough time to make his sole pit stop early and come out ahead of the midfield pack. But the rest of his pursuers weren’t far enough ahead to take the same advantage.

Hamilton actually overtook Max Verstappen after rejoining the track behind the Red Bull. Wisely, the Mercedes driver immediately surrendered the place to avoid getting a penalty for passing under the VSC.

Daniel Ricciardo led the middle part of the race after extending his first stint, Red Bull expecting Hamilton would have to pit again. It didn’t turn out that way, and their hopes he’d be quick enough to pass the cars ahead of him were also dashed. His first lap out of the pits was two-and-a-half seconds faster than Hamilton was lapping at the times, but he couldn’t sustain anything like that kind of pace afterwards.

That stood as Ricciardo’s best lap of the race, but Sebastian Vettel beat it two laps from home, his Ferrari quite happy on its 38-lap-old super-soft tyres.

Here’s all the key data from the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

2018 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix lap chart

The positions of each driver on every lap. Click name to highlight, right-click to reset. Toggle drivers using controls below:

Go ad-free for just £1 per month

>> Find out more and sign up

2018 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix race chart

The gaps between each driver on every lap compared to the leader’s average lap time. Very large gaps omitted. Scroll to zoom, drag to pan and right-click to reset. Toggle drivers using controls below:

Position change

DriverStart positionLap one position changeRace position change
Lewis Hamilton100
Valtteri Bottas20-3
Sebastian Vettel301
Kimi Raikkonen40
Daniel Ricciardo5-11
Max Verstappen6-33
Sergio Perez1446
Esteban Ocon91
Lance Stroll2057
Sergey Sirotkin1914
Nico Hulkenberg10
Carlos Sainz Jnr1105
Pierre Gasly174
Brendon Hartley16-34
Romain Grosjean70-2
Kevin Magnussen13-33
Fernando Alonso1514
Stoffel Vandoorne1814
Marcus Ericsson120
Charles Leclerc831

2018 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix lap times

All the lap times by the drivers (in seconds, very slow laps excluded). Scroll to zoom, drag to pan and toggle drivers using the control below:

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

2018 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix fastest laps

Each driver’s fastest lap:

RankDriverCarFastest lapGapOn lap
1Sebastian VettelFerrari1’40.86754
2Valtteri BottasMercedes1’40.9530.08642
3Daniel RicciardoRed Bull-TAG Heuer1’41.2490.38235
4Carlos Sainz JnrRenault1’41.3510.48454
5Lewis HamiltonMercedes1’41.3570.49053
6Max VerstappenRed Bull-TAG Heuer1’41.9091.04251
7Fernando AlonsoMcLaren-Renault1’42.3931.52653
8Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes1’42.8161.94953
9Kevin MagnussenHaas-Ferrari1’42.8221.95553
10Charles LeclercSauber-Ferrari1’42.8762.00954
11Romain GrosjeanHaas-Ferrari1’43.1952.32854
12Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren-Renault1’43.2492.38253
13Esteban OconForce India-Mercedes1’43.5912.72441
14Sergey SirotkinWilliams-Mercedes1’43.8312.96454
15Pierre GaslyToro Rosso-Honda1’43.9883.12142
16Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes1’44.0333.16653
17Brendon HartleyToro Rosso-Honda1’44.1743.30753
18Kimi RaikkonenFerrari1’45.1984.3315
19Marcus EricssonSauber-Ferrari1’46.0775.21022
20Nico HulkenbergRenault

2018 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix tyre strategies

The tyre strategies for each driver:

Stint 1Stint 2Stint 3
Lewis HamiltonUltra soft (7)Super soft (48)
Sebastian VettelUltra soft (15)Super soft (40)
Max VerstappenHyper soft (17)Super soft (38)
Daniel RicciardoUltra soft (33)Super soft (22)
Valtteri BottasUltra soft (16)Super soft (24)Ultra soft (15)
Carlos Sainz JnrUltra soft (37)Super soft (18)
Charles LeclercHyper soft (7)Super soft (48)
Sergio PerezUltra soft (26)Super soft (29)
Romain GrosjeanHyper soft (7)Super soft (47)
Kevin MagnussenSuper soft (41)Ultra soft (13)
Fernando AlonsoUltra soft (27)Super soft (27)
Brendon HartleyUltra soft (1)Super soft (53)
Lance StrollSuper soft (40)Ultra soft (14)
Stoffel VandoorneSuper soft (35)Ultra soft (19)
Sergey SirotkinSuper soft (35)Ultra soft (19)
Pierre GaslySuper soft (29)Ultra soft (17)
Esteban OconHyper soft (18)Super soft (26)
Marcus EricssonSuper soft (24)
Kimi RaikkonenUltra soft (6)
Nico HulkenbergHyper soft (0)

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

2018 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix pit stop times

How long each driver’s pit stops took:

DriverTeamPit stop timeGapOn lap
1Max VerstappenRed Bull21.05717
2Daniel RicciardoRed Bull21.0610.00433
3Lewis HamiltonMercedes21.2830.2267
4Valtteri BottasMercedes21.2890.23240
5Kevin MagnussenHaas21.5870.53041
6Valtteri BottasMercedes21.6000.54316
7Fernando AlonsoMcLaren21.7260.66927
8Charles LeclercSauber21.8280.7717
9Carlos Sainz JnrRenault21.9640.90737
10Esteban OconForce India21.9790.92218
11Sergio PerezForce India22.1121.05526
12Lance StrollWilliams22.1891.13240
13Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren22.3171.26035
14Romain GrosjeanHaas22.3541.2977
15Pierre GaslyToro Rosso22.4931.43629
16Sebastian VettelFerrari22.6301.57315
17Sergey SirotkinWilliams22.7551.69835
18Brendon HartleyToro Rosso41.01219.9551

2018 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Browse all 2018 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix articles

Author information

Keith Collantine
Lifelong motor sport fan Keith set up RaceFans in 2005 - when it was originally called F1 Fanatic. Having previously worked as a motoring...

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.

3 comments on “2018 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix interactive data: lap charts, times and tyres”

  1. A couple of tenths slower than the fastest lap of the previous season’s race, and six tenths slower than the official lap record, so the inaugural 2009 race still gets to keep that, as well as, the record for the lowest race winner’s overall time (1:34:03.414) although the combination of a single SC and VSC-periods made it impossible even to come close to that. Only one race out of the ten so far has lasted longer than the most recent, and that was the 2012 race (1:45:58.667).

  2. This seems to prove the old, old adage that the best drivers try to win at the slowest possible speed.

  3. Wisely, the Mercedes driver immediately surrendered the place to avoid getting a penalty for passing under the VSC.

    A lesson they didn’t teach in Valencia 2010

Comments are closed.