Carlos Sainz Jnr, McLaren, Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, 2019

Sainz receives grid penalty for Albon incident

2019 Canadian Grand Prix

Posted on

| Written by

Carlos Sainz Jnr has been given a three-place grid penalty for impeding Alexander Albon during qualifying.

The stewards ruled Albon had to abort his lap when he caught the McLaren driver who was going slowly on the racing line after his first run in Q1 and was warned about the Toro Rosso too late.

“Albon was on a fast lap when he closed the gap to Sainz, who was driving slowly on the racing line at turn two. Sainz was on the radio with the Team, talking about tyres. The team’s warning about Albon approaching was given too late. Because of this, Albon had to abort his lap

The McLaren driver originally qualified ninth with Kevin Magnussen, Max Verstappen and Daniil Kvyat the next three drivers behind him.

Sainz said he was unhappy with his performance in Q3 after an error spoiled his final run.

“Obviously I’m very unhappy with my Q3 mistake,” he said. “I knew I had an 11.5 on the table because it’s what I did in Q2. And I knew I needed to do an 11.4, 11.3 to get within the Renault reach.

“I got too greedy into turn eight, locked up the wheels, and I didn’t even set a lap in Q3 so I’m disappointed for that. I wanted that 11.3, 11.4 and in the end I have a 13.6.”

Don't miss anything new from RaceFans

Follow RaceFans on social media:

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

2019 F1 season

Browse all 2019 F1 season articles

Author information

Keith Collantine
Lifelong motor sport fan Keith set up RaceFans in 2005 - when it was originally called F1 Fanatic. Having previously worked as a motoring...

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.

5 comments on “Sainz receives grid penalty for Albon incident”

  1. So does this mean Verstappen will start from 9th ?

    The revised grid start should be published.

    1. Nope, he will be 10th with an empty gird slot on 9th.

  2. The incident with Albon was never shown on the world feed (yet another one of those instances), and even more surprisingly not even info by the Stewards that it will be investigated after the session was given out in the form of the TV graphics. BTW, he did set a time in Q3, on his first run, of course, he just aborted his second run as did his teammate.

    1. Yes it war show on the feed. it war at the end/start of the lap. Albon nicely got out of his way before the final chicane, so the crossed the line following each other. I don’t understand how Sains was not aware that there is a car behind him, after having passed it less that 10sec prior. Totally deserved penalty

Comments are closed.