Renault, Spa-Francorchamps, 2019

Six drivers to take grid penalties for power unit changes

2019 Belgian Grand Prix

Posted on

| Written by

Six drivers will have grid penalties for power unit changes at this weekend’s Belgian Grand Prix.

Renault has confirmed both its drivers will use a new specification engine this weekend. As they have already used their maximum allocations of internal combustion engines, Daniel Ricciardo and Nico Hulkenberg will both take five-place grid penalties.

Renault say the specification C engine will provide “minor upgrades to reliability and performance”. Fellow Renault user Carlos Sainz Jnr will also fit the upgraded engine and take a penalty.

The pair join Alexander Albon and Daniil Kvyat, who will be the first to use Honda ‘specification four’ power unit. Albon, who has taken over Pierre Gasly’s power unit allocation after taking his place at Red Bull, will therefore have a grid penalty for his first race for his new team.

Mercedes has also introduced a power unit upgrade for all of its users. Of those only Lance Stroll will receive a penalty, having had to fit a new power unit earlier in the season.

Engine components used as of first practice at Spa

27RenaultRenaultNico Hulkenberg644323
26Toro RossoHondaDaniil Kvyat555433
10Toro RossoHondaPierre Gasly544422
55McLarenRenaultCarlos Sainz Jnr544333
3RenaultRenaultDaniel Ricciardo544333
23Red BullHondaAlexander Albon444333
18Racing PointMercedesLance Stroll444211
4McLarenRenaultLando Norris333333
63WilliamsMercedesGeorge Russell333233
99Alfa RomeoFerrariAntonio Giovinazzi333223
20HaasFerrariKevin Magnussen333223
33Red BullHondaMax Verstappen333222
7Alfa RomeoFerrariKimi Raikkonen333222
8HaasFerrariRomain Grosjean333222
77MercedesMercedesValtteri Bottas333222
44MercedesMercedesLewis Hamilton333222
11Racing PointMercedesSergio Perez333211
31WilliamsMercedesRobert Kubica333211
5FerrariFerrariSebastian Vettel222223
16FerrariFerrariCharles Leclerc222222

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

2019 F1 season

Browse all 2019 F1 season articles

Author information

Keith Collantine
Lifelong motor sport fan Keith set up RaceFans in 2005 - when it was originally called F1 Fanatic. Having previously worked as a motoring...

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.

3 comments on “Six drivers to take grid penalties for power unit changes”

  1. What about the McLaren team, will they get this new ICE or wait it out?

    1. It’s available to them if they want it, they have yet to indicate whether they will or not.

    2. In the article:

      Fellow Renault user Carlos Sainz Jnr will also fit the upgraded engine and take a penalty.

Comments are closed.