Kimi Raikkonen, Alfa Romeo, Nurburgring, 2020

Raikkonen handed two penalty points for “avoidable” collision with Russell

2020 Eifel Grand Prix

Posted on

| Written by

Kimi Raikkonen has been given two penalty points on his licence for his collision with George Russell during the Eifel Grand Prix.

The pair collided at turn one while fighting for position. Raikkonen locked up at the apex and slide into the side of his rival. The contact lifted the Williams into the air, and left Russell driving back to the pits with a puncture. He subsequently retired.

The stewards ruled “car seven locked up the front right tyre and touched car 63, causing an avoidable collision and retirement of car 63.”

The sanction means Raikkonen now has a total of four penalty points.

Russell said Raikkonen had made a “minor mistake” that was easily done. “In a Formula 1 car, especially when you’re following, it’s so easy to have a small lock-up and that obviously was the reasoning why he locked up, went wide, oversteered and went into me.

“So no hard feelings. It’s racing but it’s obviously frustrating from my side.”

This article will be updated

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

2020 Eifel Grand Prix

Browse all 2020 Eifel Grand Prix articles

Author information

Keith Collantine
Lifelong motor sport fan Keith set up RaceFans in 2005 - when it was originally called F1 Fanatic. Having previously worked as a motoring...

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.

7 comments on “Raikkonen handed two penalty points for “avoidable” collision with Russell”

  1. I think this penalty is about right, but I really do wonder if the penalty given in influenced by the outcome rather than the drivers actions. Kimi went wide then had to correct, it was a mistake, but not incredibly clumsy and wasn’t that easy to avoid until it was too late.

    However, compare it to Albon vs Kvyat. Albon did what Grosjean did to Stevens in canada 2015. Overtook on a straight and pulled infront before fully passing. It was just a conincidence that this didn’t take Kvyat out, but why was the penalty for Albon less harsh? If that is the reason, it is a bit of a joke. Albon should have had a drive through at least for that as well as penalty points.

    1. @thegianthogweed How was Albon’s penalty less harsh?

    2. @mashiat

      Pretty clear isn’t it? 5 seconds is half the penalty of 10 seconds.

      1. @thegianthogweed My apologies, I thought Raikkonen had also received a 5 second penalty.

  2. He locked up and could not avoid contact. Yes, a mistake and he was penalised 10 seconds. Why add penalty points? to the safest and fairest minded of drivers?
    Whenever I hear Derek Warwicks name mentioned as steward I know there’s a penalty-giving spree coming up.

  3. Huh. I thought the contact was because Raikkonen asked too much of his rear tyres at the apex, had to correct, and hit the side of Russell; not that he locked up and ran into him.

  4. Raikkonen has plenty of penalty points to use up before the end of the season, he can go out with a bang!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments are moderated. See the Comment Policy and FAQ for more.
If the person you're replying to is a registered user you can notify them of your reply using '@username'.