2020 Bahrain Grand Prix interactive data: lap charts, times and tyres

2020 Bahrain Grand Prix

Posted on

| Written by

The Bahrain Grand Prix finished behind the Safety Car, but would Lewis Hamilton have been able to keep his lead had it been restarted?

The race winners’ tyres were twice as old as those of his closest pursuer, Max Verstappen, and the hard compound rather than the medium. When the Safety Car was deployed in reaction to Sergio Perez’s stoppage, Mercedes gambled that the race wouldn’t be restarted and didn’t bring Hamilton in for a tyre change.

That paid off. But had they been able to resume the race with a lap to go, Verstappen might have had the chance to use his faster tyres to attack him.

Valtteri Bottas endured another luckless race, picking up a pair of punctures on his way to eighth place. At his final pit stop Mercedes switched him back to his original set of medium tyres, but as he’d punctured the front-right on this set, they did not re-fit that tyre. He therefore took just three tyres at his final pit stop.

His misfortune meant he sank six places during the race. The biggest climbed was Carlos Sainz Jnr, who made up 10 places to grab a valuable sixth place for McLaren, following his own dose of bad luck in qualifying.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

2020 Bahrain Grand Prix lap chart

The positions of each driver on every lap. Click name to highlight, right-click to reset. Toggle drivers using controls below:

2020 Bahrain Grand Prix race chart

The gaps between each driver on every lap compared to the leader’s average lap time. Very large gaps omitted. Scroll to zoom, drag to pan and right-click to reset. Toggle drivers using controls below:

Position change

DriverStart positionLap one position changeRace position change
Lewis Hamilton100
Valtteri Bottas2-4-6
Sebastian Vettel11-4-2
Charles Leclerc1222
Max Verstappen311
Alexander Albon401
Carlos Sainz Jnr15210
Lando Norris905
Daniel Ricciardo61-1
Esteban Ocon7-1-2
Daniil Kvyat10-9-1
Pierre Gasly812
Sergio Perez52-13
Lance Stroll131
Kimi Raikkonen1702
Antonio Giovinazzi1650
Romain Grosjean19
Kevin Magnussen1841
George Russell14-42
Nicholas Latifi2046

2020 Bahrain Grand Prix lap times

All the lap times by the drivers (in seconds, very slow laps excluded). Scroll to zoom, drag to pan and toggle drivers using the control below:

Go ad-free for just £1 per month

>> Find out more and sign up

2020 Bahrain Grand Prix fastest laps

Each driver’s fastest lap:

RankDriverCarFastest lapGapOn lap
1Max VerstappenRed Bull-Honda1’32.01448
2Daniel RicciardoRenault1’32.8270.81338
3Lewis HamiltonMercedes1’32.8640.85038
4Valtteri BottasMercedes1’33.3521.33828
5Carlos Sainz JnrMcLaren-Renault1’33.4111.39746
6Kimi RaikkonenAlfa Romeo-Ferrari1’33.5731.55943
7Lando NorrisMcLaren-Renault1’33.5881.57453
8Charles LeclercFerrari1’33.6251.61144
9Sergio PerezRacing Point-Mercedes1’33.6291.61540
10Alexander AlbonRed Bull-Honda1’33.6841.67041
11Sebastian VettelFerrari1’33.8611.84741
12Daniil KvyatAlphaTauri-Honda1’34.1412.12735
13Esteban OconRenault1’34.3542.34037
14Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo-Ferrari1’34.5362.52222
15Nicholas LatifiWilliams-Mercedes1’34.5912.57739
16Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri-Honda1’34.8172.80348
17George RussellWilliams-Mercedes1’35.0423.02847
18Kevin MagnussenHaas-Ferrari1’35.2413.22729

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

2020 Bahrain Grand Prix tyre strategies

The tyre strategies for each driver:

Stint 1Stint 2Stint 3Stint 4Stint 5
Lewis HamiltonC3 (19)C3 (16)C2 (22)
Max VerstappenC3 (1)C3 (19)C2 (14)C2 (12)C3 (11)
Alexander AlbonC3 (1)C3 (18)C3 (15)C2 (23)
Pierre GaslyC3 (1)C2 (24)C2 (32)
Daniel RicciardoC3 (16)C2 (20)C2 (21)
Valtteri BottasC3 (4)C2 (21)C3 (13)C3 (19)
Lando NorrisC3 (18)C3 (20)C2 (19)
Esteban OconC3 (1)C3 (16)C3 (17)C2 (23)
Carlos Sainz JnrC4 (1)C4 (20)C3 (18)C2 (18)
Charles LeclercC2 (1)C3 (22)C2 (17)C2 (16)
Antonio GiovinazziC3 (1)C3 (19)C2 (33)C4 (3)
Sebastian VettelC3 (1)C2 (19)C3 (19)C2 (17)
Nicholas LatifiC2 (1)C3 (20)C3 (16)C2 (19)
George RussellC3 (1)C3 (19)C2 (19)C3 (17)
Daniil KvyatC3 (1)C4 (16)C2 (16)C2 (23)
Kimi RaikkonenC3 (1)C3 (16)C2 (23)C3 (16)
Kevin MagnussenC3 (1)C2 (2)C2 (24)C2 (26)C4 (3)
Sergio PerezC3 (1)C3 (19)C2 (16)C2 (17)
Lance StrollC3 (1)C3 (1)
Romain Grosjean

Go ad-free for just £1 per month

>> Find out more and sign up

2020 Bahrain Grand Prix pit stop times

How long each driver’s pit stops took (excludes drivers changing tyres on the first lap):

DriverTeamPit stop timeGapOn lap
1Alexander AlbonRed Bull23.84834
2Max VerstappenRed Bull23.9060.05846
3Nicholas LatifiWilliams24.0240.17637
4George RussellWilliams24.0290.18120
5Lewis HamiltonMercedes24.0610.21319
6Esteban OconRenault24.0760.22817
7Daniil KvyatAlphaTauri24.1350.28733
8Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo24.1450.29720
9Alexander AlbonRed Bull24.1720.32419
10Nicholas LatifiWilliams24.2480.40021
11Sergio PerezRacing Point24.3170.46920
12Lewis HamiltonMercedes24.3450.49735
13Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri24.3980.55025
14Carlos Sainz JnrMcLaren24.5110.66321
15Sergio PerezRacing Point24.5890.74136
16Daniel RicciardoRenault24.6170.76916
17Max VerstappenRed Bull24.6220.77420
18Lando NorrisMcLaren24.6660.81838
19Valtteri BottasMercedes24.6750.82738
20Lando NorrisMcLaren24.6790.83118
21Valtteri BottasMercedes24.7340.88625
22Sebastian VettelFerrari24.7740.92620
23Daniel RicciardoRenault24.8170.96936
24Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo24.8360.98853
25Charles LeclercFerrari24.8551.00740
26Valtteri BottasMercedes24.9361.0884
27Charles LeclercFerrari25.1991.35123
28Esteban OconRenault25.2541.40634
29Kimi RaikkonenAlfa Romeo25.2701.42240
30Sebastian VettelFerrari25.4441.59639
31Carlos Sainz JnrMcLaren25.5021.65439
32Kevin MagnussenHaas25.7931.94553
33Kevin MagnussenHaas25.9242.07627
34Max VerstappenRed Bull26.9503.10234
35George RussellWilliams27.1463.29839
36Kimi RaikkonenAlfa Romeo32.2788.43017
37Daniil KvyatAlphaTauri37.31713.46917
38Kevin MagnussenHaas38.29714.4493

Browse all 2020 Bahrain Grand Prix articles

Author information

Keith Collantine
Lifelong motor sport fan Keith set up RaceFans in 2005 - when it was originally called F1 Fanatic. Having previously worked as a motoring...

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.

3 comments on “2020 Bahrain Grand Prix interactive data: lap charts, times and tyres”

  1. Wait, so Bottas had 3 tyres that did 8 laps and one tyre that had done over 20 laps? I didn’t know they were even allowed to do that!

    1. I didn’t think they were allowed to mix sets either.

  2. It was a different Renault at the end of the race. Sainz went past like a they were standing still after the first stops then Ric was matching the Mclarens and Perez in the final stints, with Ocon not too far off. Perhaps tuned for low fuel running.

Comments are closed.