Leclerc takes first Formula 3 win with lights-to-flag drive

Formula 3

Posted on

| Written by

Arthur Leclerc won today’s second Formula 3 race at Paul Ricard, leading every lap from pole position.

The Prema driver secured the leading place on the grid by battling from 30th to 12th during the morning’s 20-lap race. He was joined on the front row by Red Bull junior Jak Crawford, with Leclerc’s Prema team mates Olli Caldwell and Dennis Hauger immediately behind them.

Crawford stalled at the start, and was fortunate not to be hit as all bar one of the remaining 28 cars got going. Caio Collet also stalled, and unlike Crawford was unable to get going again.

While the Prema trio pulled away Victor Martins, who started 11th, passed Logan Sargeant on the opening lap for 10th. Another series of improvements saw the home racer, who was narrowly denied victory in the morning race, climb to sixth by the end of lap two.

The only collision of the race was between HWA’s Rafael Villagomez and Carlin Buzz Racing’s Ido Cohen, Villagomez being pushed off the track. Cohen said on the radio afterwards that he had finger pain after the hit. His grief was exacerbated when the stewards handed him a 10-second penalty for causing the incident.

Martins was able to make the move for his second podium of the day, passing Caldwell on lap 19 to take third from his 11th-placed start. On the same lap, he set fastest lap with a 1’52.419 to take another two points.

The untroubled Leclerc took the chequered flag, followed by Hauger in a Prema one-two finish. With Martins closing out the podium, the other points finishers were Caldwell, Jack Doohan, Clement Novalak, Alex Smolyar, Calan Williams, Ayumu Iwasa and Frederik Vesti.

Hauger and Martins both scored 12 points in the race, meaning they both continue to run on equal numbers at the start of the championship, on 48 points apiece. Vesti will start on pole for race three tomorrow.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 3 race two results

Position Car Driver Team
1 2 Arthur Leclerc Prema
2 1 Dennis Hauger Prema
3 17 Victor Martins MP
4 3 Olli Caldwell Prema
5 4 Jack Doohan Trident
6 5 Clement Novalak Trident
7 8 Alexander Smolyar ART
8 26 Calan Williams Jenzer
9 11 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech
10 7 Frederik Vesti ART
11 6 David Schumacher Trident
12 29 Logan Sargeant Charouz
13 14 Matteo Nannini HWA
14 10 Jak Crawford Hitech
15 21 Lorenzo Colombo Campos
16 20 Pierre-Louis Chovet Campos
17 9 Juan Manuel Correa ART
18 30 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz
19 19 Tijmen van der Helm MP
20 12 Roman Stanek Hitech
21 15 Oliver Rasmussen HWA
22 24 Kaylen Frederick Carlin
23 25 Jonny Edgar Carlin
24 22 Amaury Cordeel Campos
25 31 Reshad De Gerus Charouz
26 27 Johnathan Hoggard Jenzer
27 16 Rafael Villagomez HWA
28 28 Filip-Ioan Ugran Jenzer
29 23 Ido Cohen Carlin
30 18 Caio Collet MP

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 3

Browse all Formula 3 articles

Author information

Hazel Southwell
Hazel is a motorsport and automotive journalist with a particular interest in hybrid systems, electrification, batteries and new fuel technologies....

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.

3 comments on “Leclerc takes first Formula 3 win with lights-to-flag drive”

  1. Very happy for him! After the bad luck in qualifying, he did an amazing job to get from P30 to P12 in the first race and just controlled the second race from the front. Great job!

    1. Maybe he should coach charles. Charles had no speed at all today.

  2. Victor Martins continues to impress. Hopefully this is the year a non-Prema driver can win the title.

Comments are closed.