Lance Stroll, Aston Martin, Albert Park, 2022

Stroll handed inconsequential three-place grid penalty for Latifi collision

2022 Australian Grand Prix

Posted on

| Written by

Lance Stroll has been given a three-place grid penalty for the Australian Grand Prix for causing a collision with Nicholas Latifi during qualifying.

However as the Aston Martin driver qualified in last place, the penalty will make no difference to his starting position.

The stewards held Stroll responsible for the collision at the end of Q1, which tore the left-rear wheel off Latifi’s car and triggered a substantial crash. They accused him of showing a lack of awareness by pulling to the right as he was being passed by Latifi, who he had overtaken moments earlier.

“[Latifi] pulled off course to the left and slowed at the exit of turn four to let cars by, the last of which was [Stroll],” the stewards explained.

“At the exit of turn five, Stroll appeared to not accelerate and was in the middle of the track. Latifi made the decision to accelerate and pass Stroll on the right as Stroll was moving right toward the right-hand edge of the track where the track curves slightly to the right on the run to turn six.

“Contact was made between Stroll’s right-front wheel and Latifi’s left-rear wheel, with the subsequent damage putting both cars out of the session. The stewards find that Stroll was predominantly to blame for the collision because of his lack of situational awareness of Latifi’s passing manoeuvre.”

Stroll was also given two penalty points on his licence. He now has a total of seven.

Don't miss anything new from RaceFans

Follow RaceFans on social media:

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

2022 Australian Grand Prix

Browse all 2022 Australian Grand Prix articles

Author information

Keith Collantine
Lifelong motor sport fan Keith set up RaceFans in 2005 - when it was originally called F1 Fanatic. Having previously worked as a motoring...

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.

24 comments on “Stroll handed inconsequential three-place grid penalty for Latifi collision”

  1. Fair enough

    1. what? what is race direction doing? How can race direction even do worse than what Masi was doing?
      At Jeddah Abon got penalized for a racing incident, now worse, they penalize the wrong guy, again I think they have suffered enough but clearly if anyone was to be penalised it is Latifi. Latifi was erratic and took a strange decision.

  2. Let’s look at the upside, young Mr Stroll won’t have to worry about cars in his mirrors for at least 15 laps on Sunday.

    After that, well, he’ll probably be better off parking the car.

  3. Stroll at fault but don’t think Latifi should have risked putting his car where he did

    1. Agree.

      Probably Stroll is “more at fault” but Latifi was reckless too, as he accelerated all of a sudden, tried an inside pass at a right hander and fell on the blind spot of Stroll’s right mirror.

      1. @elio To be fair, everywhere is a blind spot in Stroll’s mirrors.

        1. @keithedin to be fairer, Latifi accelerated to stay alongside Stroll as Stroll was completing the pass. Then he slammed the gas pedal as Stroll was turning to the right. Latifi was absolutely stupid, doing what he did, regardless of how much we can say Stroll should’ve been looking in his mirrors.

          1. Exactly my point.

  4. Did he at least get a penalty point or two, or did I miss that in the article?

    1. Yeah, at least 2 in my opinion

    2. Stroll was also given two penalty points on his licence. He now has a total of seven.

  5. He should’ve equally got penalized for the Albon incident. At least this one went the right way round.

    1. @jerejj in my view both went the wrong way. fia should have remained neutral on both, both got their penalty.

  6. Not Nico Hülkenberg
    9th April 2022, 11:10

    How about a race ban?

  7. He was just strolling there

  8. Barry Bens (@barryfromdownunder)
    9th April 2022, 11:32

    They accused him of showing a lack of awareness

    For a guy who couldn’t find his rainlights, I’m not surprised.

    1. For a guy who could’t find the energy button, I‘m not surprised.

  9. Yes (@come-on-kubica)
    9th April 2022, 12:01

    I think they’ve been too lenient on Stroll. The penalty points should have been higher.

  10. Shows that even the finest driver on the grid and next world champion (©L Stroll) can make a mistake. Often.

  11. Have to admit I actually thought the incident was more Latifi’s fault, but seems the consensus as well as the ruling shows Stroll to blame. Latifi was driving around like it was a video game. He was in absolute cruise mode, off the track letting Stroll past, then he thinks better of it and tries to dart past in a narrow gap.

    1. The Dolphins
      9th April 2022, 22:43

      Agree with you Dan, it was a completely confusing move by Latifi. Stroll’s awareness aside it would not be logical that a driver who was off track a moment earlier would be steaming up the inside by the next turn, on an in lap. Both drivers should have been penalized, in my opinion.

  12. Mark in Florida
    9th April 2022, 18:17

    As much as I dislike Stroll, I feel that Latifi was the main culprit in this situation. As usual Latifi was all over the place with his car. He let Stroll by then sped up to try and pass on the inside. He had already acquiesced the position why floor it just as someone is turning into the corner? Latifi just looks pitiful lately. He has become the new Maldonado. I’m not looking for him to stay at Williams past this year. With this new budget cap in place Williams can’t afford a crash magnet like Latifi.

  13. Stroll was snoozing out there and was mostly to blame. Latifi is channeling Mazispin this year and will single handedly bankrupt his team.

Comments are closed.