Will Power, Penske, IndyCar, 2022

Power denies Palou pole for Grand Prix of Indianapolis


Posted on

| Written by

Penske driver Will Power has won pole position for Saturday’s IndyCar Grand Prix of Indianapolis, ahead of reigning champion and points leader Álex Palou.

Power has become the fifth different driver to win pole position in five races this season. After setting the fastest time in his group during first round qualifying, Power advanced through the second round and, took pole position with a lap time of 1’09.766.

Palou will start on the outside of the front row from second place, ahead of Josef Newgarden in third. Conor Daly was the surprise of the Fast Six qualifying stage, advancing to the pole shootout and qualifying fourth for Ed Carpenter Racing.

McLaren SP lock out the third row with Alabama GP winner Pato O’Ward in fifth ahead of team mate Felix Rosenqvist. The fourth row is shared by recent Formula 2 alumni, Callum Ilott seventh in the sole Juncos Hollinger entry, next to RLL’s Christian Lundgaard in eighth, four places lower than he achieved in his IndyCar debut at this track last year.

Jack Harvey and Romain Grosjean complete the top ten, the latter starting directly ahead of Graham Rahal (12th), two weeks after their hotly debated on-track confrontation at Barber Motorsports Park. Rahal shared row six with Scott McLaughlin, who sits second in the championship.

Outside the first six rows, some of the notable names starting further back in the field include Colton Herta (14th), defending Indy GP winner Rinus VeeKay (15th), Alexander Rossi (16th), Hélio Castroneves (19th), Simon Pagenaud (20th), and Scott Dixon (21st).

In his first race of the season, two-time Indy 500 winner Juan Pablo Montoya qualified 23rd of the 27 runners in McLaren SP’s number six car.

Power took his sixth pole at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course, and career pole position number 64, bringing him within three of Mario Andretti’s all-time record. Power won the Brickyard Grand Prix at Indy last summer, his fourth win at the speedway road course.

The green flag for the Grand Prix of Indianapolis will wave tomorrow at 20:45 BST. The 85-lap race will kick off the month of May at Indianapolis before a week of practice and time trials for the 106th Indianapolis 500 commences.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Position Car Driver Team Engine
1 12 Will Power Penske Chevrolet
2 10 Alex Palou Ganassi Honda
3 2 Josef Newgarden Penske Chevrolet
4 20 Conor Daly Carpenter Chevrolet
5 5 Pato O’Ward McLaren SP Chevrolet
6 7 Felix Rosenqvist McLaren SP Chevrolet
7 77 Callum Ilott Juncos Hollinger Chevrolet
8 30 Christian Lundgaard RLL Honda
9 45 Jack Harvey RLL Honda
10 28 Romain Grosjean Andretti Honda
11 3 Scott McLaughlin Penske Chevrolet
12 15 Graham Rahal RLL Honda
13 51 Takuma Sato Coyne/RWR Honda
14 26 Colton Herta Andretti Honda
15 21 Rinus VeeKay Carpenter Chevrolet
16 27 Alexander Rossi Andretti Honda
17 29 Devlin DeFrancesco Andretti Steinbrenner Honda
18 8 Marcus Ericsson Ganassi Honda
19 06 Helio Castroneves Meyer Shank Honda
20 60 Simon Pagenaud Meyer Shank Honda
21 9 Scott Dixon Ganassi Honda
22 14 Kyle Kirkwood Foyt Chevrolet
23 6 Juan Pablo Montoya McLaren SP Chevrolet
24 18 David Malukas Coyne/HMD Honda
25 11 Tatiana Calderon Foyt Chevrolet
26 4 Dalton Kellett Foyt Chevrolet
27 48 Jimmie Johnson Ganassi Honda

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free


Browse all IndyCar articles

Author information

RJ O'Connell
Motorsport has been a lifelong interest for RJ, both virtual and ‘in the carbon’, since childhood. RJ picked up motorsports writing as a hobby...

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.

Posted on Categories IndyCarTags , ,

Promoted content from around the web | Become a RaceFans Supporter to hide this ad and others