Rosenqvist takes back-to-back pole positions at Texas Motor Speedway


Posted on

| Written by

Felix Rosenqvist qualified on pole for the Texas 375 at Texas Motor Speedway – his second consecutive pole at the 2.4-kilometre, 1.5-mile superspeedway.

With the qualifying order set by entrant points, Rosenqvist was the tenth driver out of a bumper grid of 28 cars to attempt to qualify. But the McLaren driver immediately put himself at the front of the field.

Determined to bounce back after being caught up in a first-lap crash in the Grand Prix of St. Petersburg, Rosenqvist was the first and only driver to average over 220 miles per hour during his two-lap qualifying run. His two-lap average of 220.264 mph (354.481 kph) put him on the provisional pole ahead of Colton Herta.

The likes of Josef Newgarden, Scott Dixon, and Arrow McLaren team mate Alexander Rossi came close to toppling him, but none of them were able to knock Rosenqvist off the top spot as he won his fourth career IndyCar Series pole position.

Dixon, a three-time winner at Texas Motor Speedway, qualified second in his Honda-powered Chip Ganassi Racing entry.

McLaren’s three-car outfit impressed during qualifying, as Rossi qualified third, ahead of Pato O’Ward in fifth. Josef Newgarden was Penske’s best qualifier in fourth place, between Rossi and O’Ward.

In his first start of the season, Takuma Sato looked like he’d never missed a beat as he qualified sixth in his number 11 Ganassi/Honda. Alex Palou was seventh-fastest, while Will Power qualified eighth after he hit the rev limiter hard during his second lap.

Sophomore driver David Malukas was ninth-fastest, while Herta eventually sorted down into tenth place.

Of the three rookies, Benjamin Pedersen put in a surprising performance. The driver of AJ Foyt Racing’s number 55 car was 13th fastest, ahead of his team mate Santino Ferrucci and several other more experienced competitors and past race winners.

Those included Scott McLaughlin, who was only 15th fastest after setting the pace during this morning’s first practice session, and St. Petersburg race winner Marcus Ericsson, who was last to run and took 16th.

IndyCar’s annual visit to Texas could be one of the more entertaining outings in the circuit’s history if the range of aerodynamic kit options available to teams works as intended. There will be two additional practice sessions later this afternoon to help put rubber down on the outside grooves in the corners.

The green flag for Sunday’s race is scheduled for 5:15 PM BST / 11:15 AM CDT (local time).

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Texas 375 qualifying results

16Felix RosenqvistMcLarenChevrolet
29Scott DixonGanassiHonda
37Alexander RossiMcLarenChevrolet
42Josef NewgardenPenskeChevrolet
55Pato O’WardMcLarenChevrolet
611Takuma SatoGanassiHonda
710Alex PalouGanassiHonda
812Will PowerPenskeChevrolet
918David MalukasCoyne/HMDHonda
1026Colton HertaAndrettiHonda
1128Romain GrosjeanAndrettiHonda
1229Devlin DeFrancescoAndrettiHonda
1355Benjamin PedersenFoytChevrolet
1414Santino FerrucciFoytChevrolet
153Scott McLaughlinPenskeChevrolet
168Marcus EricssonGanassiHonda
1777Callum IlottJuncos HollingerChevrolet
1833Ed CarpenterCarpenterChevrolet
1978Agustin CanapinoJuncos HollingerChevrolet
2027Kyle KirkwoodAndrettiHonda
2106Helio CastronevesMeyer ShankHonda
2260Simon PagenaudMeyer ShankHonda
2351Sting Ray RobbCoyne/RWRHonda
2415Graham RahalRLLHonda
2520Conor DalyCarpenterChevrolet
2621Rinus VeeKayCarpenterChevrolet
2745Christian LundgaardRLLHonda
2830Jack HarveyRLLHonda


Browse all IndyCar articles

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Author information

RJ O'Connell
Motorsport has been a lifelong interest for RJ, both virtual and ‘in the carbon’, since childhood. RJ picked up motorsports writing as a hobby...

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.