Vesti out-runs Martins after two Safety Car periods for crucial sprint race win

Formula 2

Posted on

| Written by

Frederik Vesti won the Formula 2 sprint race in Monza from third on the grid to reduce his deficit to championship leader Theo Pourchaire.

Vesti claimed the race lead on the opening lap and withstood the disruption of two Safety Car restarts for his fifth victory of the season.

He crossed the line less than half a second ahead of Victor Martins, who made rapid progress through the field early in the race. Richard Verschoor completed the podium within a second of the winner.

Ralph Boschung started on took pole position on the partially-reversed grid with Verschoor joining him on the front row. Vesti completed the top three, while Pourchaire started 10th for the first race of the championship’s penultimate round.

The top three arrived at the Rettifilo chicane side-by-side on the first lap. Boschung, sandwiched in the middle, locked up heavily and took to the escape road, which left a battle for the lead between Verschoor and Vesti.

The Mercedes junior had better traction out of Rettifilo and he completed his move on Verschoor down the inside of Curva Grande. But the race was under Safety Car conditions by the end of lap one, after Amaury Cordeel was spun by Zane Maloney at Ascari.

Vesti led the lap five restart well, but Boschung’s afternoon went from bad to worse. He started lap five in fourth, but immediately got swallowed up on the start-finish straight and was eighth into Rettifilo. His tyres had been ruined by his lap one lock-up and he was down in 13th by the time the cars returned to the start/finish straight.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Further ahead, the battle for third was intensifying. Martins, who had a close moment on lap one after making contact with Oliver Bearman, was the fastest driver following the restart and he applied pressure to third-placed Kush Maini.

Martins completed his attack on lap eight, overtaking Maini at Rettifilo. Both ART drivers were on the move: Moments later Pourchaire overtook Jak Crawford for fifth with a move on the inside of Variante della Roggia.

While the championship leader was making moves, title hopeful Vesti was doing all he could and by lap 11 he led the race by 1.7 seconds. But there was a rapid Martins behind, who on the following tour overtook Verschoor for second at Rettifilo.

To Vesti’s dismay, the Safety Car was summoned again on lap 12. Juan Manuel Correa hit Roy Nissany at the Roggia which sent the PHM driver into a spin and out of the race.

Another retirement occurred the following lap as Ayumu Iwasa entered the pit lane with terminal damage. The fourth consecutive non-points finish was another blow for the driver who arrived in Italy third in the standings.

The race restarted on lap 16. The top three kept position, while a back-and-forth battle for fourth occurred. Pourchaire initially claimed it at Rettifilo before Maini took it back, but then the Sauber junior completed a daring, late lunge down the inside of the Roggia on lap 16.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Pourchaire pulled clear of Maini, while Vesti was under intense pressure from Martins. On the penultimate lap, the ART driver was four tenths of a second behind Vesti, who changed his line as much as he dared on the straight into Alboreto (formerly Parabolica) to break the tow.

This proved crucial in keeping Martins behind and Vesti claimed his much-needed victory. Verschoor finished 0.4s behind Martins to join them on the podium.

Behind was Pourchaire in fourth, with Maini, Bearman, Arthur Leclerc and Roman Stanek completing the point positions.

Vesti now trails the Sauber junior by nine points in the standings, while Martins moves above Jack Doohan into fourth and is three points behind Iwasa. But Pourchaire will start tomorrow’s feature race from pole position, giving him a chance to recover the ground he lost to Vesti.

Formula 2 Italy race one results

Position Car Driver Team
1 7 Frederik Vesti Prema
2 6 Victor Martins ART
3 22 Richard Verschoor Van Amersfoort
4 5 Theo Pourchaire ART
5 24 Kush Maini Campos
6 8 Ollie Bearman Prema
7 12 Arthur Leclerc DAMS
8 20 Roman Staněk Trident
9 14 Jack Doohan Virtuosi
10 21 Clement Novalak Trident
11 10 Isack Hadjar Hitech
12 1 Dennis Hauger MP
13 9 Jak Crawford Hitech
14 3 Zane Maloney Rodin Carlin
15 4 Enzo Fittipaldi Rodin Carlin
16 17 Josh Mason PHM Racing by Charouz
17 2 Jehan Daruvala MP
18 23 Juan Manuel Correa Van Amersfoort
19 25 Ralph Boschung Campos
DNF 11 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS
DNF 16 Roy Nissany PHM Racing by Charouz
DNF 15 Amaury Cordeel Virtuosi

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 2

Browse all Formula 2 articles

Author information

Ed Hardy
In 2019, Ed started working on Formula 1 writing articles during race weekends. Alongside that, he also built up experience in football working on...

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.