Santiago Ramos, Trident, Imola, 2024

Ramos on pole as Trident lock out top three grid spots

Formula 3

Posted on

| Written by

Santiago Ramos secured the first Formula 3 pole of his career at Imola ahead of both of his Trident team mates.

His final effort of a 1’31.767 secured him pole, less than a tenth of a second ahead of Leonardo Fornaroli with the third Trident of Sami Meguetounif taking third place.

Fornaroli had set the provisional pole time after the early runs with a 1’32.159, a tenth of a second ahead of new McLaren junior Alex Dunne. Ferrari junior driver Dino Beganovic then pipped Fornaroli by three thousandths of a second, before his Prema team mate and Red Bull junior Arvid Lindblad jumped to the top of the times.

In the final minutes of the session, Fornaroli began a final push lap and managed to reclaim provisional pole by almost three tenths. His Trident team mate Sami Meguetounif could not match Fornaroli’s best time and slotted into second place, before the third Trident of Ramos snatched pole away from Fornaroli by a few hundredths of a second at the chequered flag.

Lindblad qualified fourth as the fastest Prema driver, with Dunne taking fifth on the grid for MP Motorsport. The remaining two Premas of Beganovic and Gabriele Mini wee sixth and seventh, with Oliver Goethe eighth for Campos. Laurens van Hoepen and Luke Browning completed the top ten.

Rodin driver Callum Voisin’s session ended early after spinning into the gravel trap at the exit of the Tamburello chicane, bringing out the red flags. As a result, he could become the first victim of a new rule for 2024 where drivers who are solely responsible for triggering a red flag in qualifying have their best time deleted from the session. If so, he would drop from 21st place to the rear of the grid for both of this weekend’s races.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 3 Italy qualifying results

Position Car Driver Team
1 6 Santiago Ramos Trident
2 4 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident
3 5 Sami Meguetounif Trident
4 3 Arvid Lindblad Prema
5 9 Alex Dunne MP
6 1 Dino Beganovic Prema
7 2 Gabriele Minì Prema
8 10 Oliver Goethe Campos
9 24 Laurens Van Hoepen ART
10 14 Luke Browning Hitech
11 7 Tim Tramnitz MP
12 20 Noel Leon Van Amersfoort
13 8 Kacper Sztuka MP
14 12 Mari Boya Campos
15 27 Nikita Bedrin PHM
16 25 Nikola Tsolov ART
17 17 Charlie Wurz Jenzer
18 23 Christian Mansell ART
19 19 Matías Zagazeta Jenzer
20 15 Martinius Stenshorne Hitech
21 29 Callum Voisin Rodin
22 21 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort
23 31 Joseph Loake Rodin
24 18 Max Esterson Jenzer
25 11 Sebastian Montoya Campos
26 16 Cian Shields Hitech
27 22 Tom Smith Van Amersfoort
28 30 Piotr Wisnicki Rodin
29 26 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak PHM
30 28 Josh Dufek PHM

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 3

Browse all Formula 3 articles

Author information

Will Wood
Will has been a RaceFans contributor since 2012 during which time he has covered F1 test sessions, launch events and interviewed drivers. He mainly...

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.