Franco Colapinto

Colapinto stuns Aron with last lap-pass for Imola sprint race win

Formula 2

Posted on

| Written by

Williams junior Franco Colapinto took a stunning victory in the Imola sprint race by passing Paul Aron on the final lap.

The Hitech driver led every lap of the race except for the final one as Colapinto stormed around the outside of the Tamburello to snatch the lead.

Championship leader Zane Maloney completed the podium in third after overtaking Amaury Cordeel in the closing laps, also around the outside at Tamburello.

Aron jumped team mate Cordeel at the start of the race and led after the end of an early Safety Car period. Just after the mid point of the race, Aron was caught by Colapinto who managed to get within DRS range.

Aron held his nerve up until the end of the penultimate lap, when a slight error through the second Rivazza allowed Colapinto to slipstream along the pit straight and sweep around the outside of the Tamburello chicane. Race control took note of the move, as Colapinto came close to straying beyond the white line, but quickly announced that no further action would be taken after reviewing it.

Maloney finished almost five seconds behind Aron in third. Cordeel, who started from pole position, took his best ever F2 finish in fourth. Ferrari junior Oliver Bearman finished fifth, his best result of the year so far, with feature race pole winner Gabriel Bortoleto in sixth.

Taylor Barnard claimed his first points in seventh ahead of Richard Verschoor in eighth. Kush Maini and Zak O’Sullivan completed the top ten, while Mercedes junior Andrea Kimi Antonelli could only manage 11th after making poor getaways on both the formation lap and the race start, the latter dropping him many places down the order.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

The start of the race was marred by a multi-car crash on the run to Tamburello when Roman Stanek made contact with Isack Hadjar, sending the Red Bull junior spinning in front of the majority of the field. Both were out of the race, with Dennis Hauger, Joshua Durksen and Enzo Fittipaldi also forced to retire after being caught up in the chaos.

The stewards announced that the start crash will be investigated after the race.

Formula 2 Italy race one results

Position Car Driver Team
1 12 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport
2 17 Paul Aron Hitech
3 5 Zane Maloney Rodin
4 16 Amaury Cordeel Hitech
5 3 Ollie Bearman Prema
6 10 Gabriel Bortoleto Invicta
7 25 Taylor Barnard PHM
8 22 Richard Verschoor Trident
9 9 Kush Maini Invicta
10 2 Zak O’Sullivan ART
11 4 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema
12 15 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort
13 1 Victor Martins ART
14 6 Ritomo Miyata Rodin
15 7 Jak Crawford DAMS
16 8 Juan Manuel Correa DAMS
17 21 Josep Maria Marti Campos
18 11 Dennis Hauger MP Motorsport
DNF 23 Roman Stanek Trident
DNF 20 Isack Hadjar Campos
DNF 24 Joshua Duerksen PHM
DNF 14 Enzo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 2

Browse all Formula 2 articles

Author information

Will Wood
Will has been a RaceFans contributor since 2012 during which time he has covered F1 test sessions, launch events and interviewed drivers. He mainly...

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.

4 comments on “Colapinto stuns Aron with last lap-pass for Imola sprint race win”

  1. Yes Franco! Well done!

    1. Hey Fer, I’ve been on this website for about 15 years – you’re from/based in Argentina, right? If so very cool to see a new winner, particularly with a last lap pass. Happy for you.

  2. Excellent move to win the sprint race. A friend of mine is supporting him financially since last week so it was worth the investment. Franco has a brilliant future ahead. Hope to see him competing in F1 soon!

  3. Great move!

Comments are closed.