Start, Formula 3 sprint race, Monaco, 2024

Alpine junior Tsolov cruises to first F3 win at Monaco after pile-up at start

Formula 3

Posted on

| Written by

Alpine junior Nikola Tsolov converted reverse grid pole position to win the Monaco sprint race ahead of Tim Tramnitz.

Tsolov led home Tramnitz by just over four seconds after leading every lap of the race, with Laurens van Hoepen taking third.

The race was initially red flagged following a multi-car pile up at Casino Square when Red Bull junior Arvid Lindblad clipped Christian Mansell who was running to his outside. The crash claimed both drivers, along with Joshua Dufek, Alex Dunne and Cian Shields, who were all unable to take the restart.

When the race eventually resumed, reverse grid pole-winner Tsolov led the field away ahead of Tim Tramnitz and Laurens van Hoepen in third. The race was interrupted a second time by a Safety Car shortly after half distance when Kacper Sztuka pulled off track after colliding with Sophia Floersch, coming to a stop at Sainte Devote.

Tsolov led the field away at the restart but appeared to make a slight weaving motion out of the exit of Rascasse, which is prohibited by the race director’s event notes for this weekend. The stewards noted Tsolov’s actions, which earned Noel Leon a penalty at Imola last week, but determinedno further investigation was necessary.

That will have come as a relief to Tsolov, whose team advised him to pull out a five-second lead in case he was penalised, but was unable. He took the chequered flag four second ahead of Tramnitz, securing his first win and first podium appearance in Formula 3.

Tramnitz held onto second place, with Van Hoepen taking the final podium position in third. Leon finished fourth ahead of Joseph Loake, with Mari Boya sixth for Campos. Ferrari academy driver Dino Beganovic took points in seventh ahead of Luke Browning and championship leader Leonardo Fornaroli. Oliver Goethe took the final point in 10th.

Fornaroli’s championship lead falls to just two points ahead of Browning following the sprint race. Gabriele Mini will start tomorrow’s feature race from pole position ahead of Mansell and Browning.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 3 Monaco race one results

Position Car Driver Team
1 25 Nikola Tsolov ART
2 7 Tim Tramnitz MP
3 24 Laurens Van Hoepen ART
5 20 Noel Leon Van Amersfoort
5 31 Joseph Loake Rodin
6 12 Mari Boya Campos
7 1 Dino Beganovic Prema
8 14 Luke Browning Hitech
9 4 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident
10 10 Oliver Goethe Campos
11 2 Gabriele Minì Prema
12 29 Callum Voisin Rodin
13 22 Tom Smith Van Amersfoort
14 18 Max Esterson Jenzer
15 6 Santiago Ramos Trident
16 15 Martinius Stenshorne Hitech
17 26 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak PHM
18 11 Sebastian Montoya Campos
19 17 Charlie Wurz Jenzer
20 19 James Hedley Jenzer
21 30 Piotr Wisnicki Rodin
DNF 5 Sami Meguetounif Trident
DNF 27 Nikita Bedrin PHM
DNF 21 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort
DNF 8 Kacper Sztuka MP
DNF 3 Arvid Lindblad Prema
DNF 23 Christian Mansell ART
DNF 28 Josh Dufek PHM
DNF 9 Alex Dunne MP
DNF 16 Cian Shields Hitech

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 3

Browse all Formula 3 articles

Author information

Will Wood
Will has been a RaceFans contributor since 2012 during which time he has covered F1 test sessions, launch events and interviewed drivers. He mainly...

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments are moderated. See the Comment Policy and FAQ for more.
If the person you're replying to is a registered user you can notify them of your reply using '@username'.