Taylor Barnard

Barnard bags first Formula 2 win after red flag and restart

Formula 2

Posted on

| Written by

Taylor Barnard converted reverse-grid pole to victory for AIX in Monaco despite a late restart after a crash at Rascasse partially blocked the track.

He held onto the lead at the start of the race ahead of McLaren junior Gabriel Bortoleto and remained there throughout.

The AIX driver secured his first win in the series and first podium, having never previously finished higher than 13th. Dennis Hauger took the final podium position in third, ahead of Mercedes junior Andrea Kimi Antonelli.

Championship leader Zane Maloney triggered a red flag in the closing stages when he ran into the back of Zak O’Sullivan at Sainte Devote, causing a chain reaction that left Maloney and Kush Maini blocking the circuit. With no room for cars to navigate through the scene, the race was stopped and restarted with six laps remaining. Barnard held onto the lead at the rolling restart and pulled away to win by just over five seconds from Bortoleto in second.

Hauger claimed the final podium position in third ahead of Antonelli and Franco Colapinto in fifth. Roman Stanek took sixth with Paul Aron gaining to within three points of Maloney in the championship thanks to seventh. Isack Hadjar, Enzo Fittipaldi and Williams junior O’Sullivan completed the points positions.

Victor Martins was an unfortunate retirement at the start after getting caught between two cars on the run to Sainte Devote, losing his front wing and crashing into the barriers. After a brief Safety Car period, Red Bull junior Pepe Marti crashed out at the Swimming Pool, triggering a second Safety Car interruption in the opening ten laps.

Ferrari junior Oliver Bearman clattered the wall at Anthony Noghes midway through the race, appearing to suffer damage, but was able to continue. He lost several places when his power unit cut out at Portier later on in the race but finished just outside of the points in 11th.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 2 Monaco race one results

Position Car Driver Team
1 25 Taylor Barnard AIX
2 10 Gabriel Bortoleto Invicta
3 11 Dennis Hauger MP Motorsport
4 4 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema
5 12 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport
6 23 Roman Stanek Trident
7 17 Paul Aron Hitech
8 20 Isack Hadjar Campos
9 14 Enzo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort
10 2 Zak O’Sullivan ART
11 3 Ollie Bearman Prema
12 8 Juan Manuel Correa DAMS
13 7 Jak Crawford DAMS
14 16 Amaury Cordeel Hitech
15 15 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort
16 22 Richard Verschoor Trident
17 6 Ritomo Miyata Rodin
18 24 Joshua Duerksen AIX
DNF 5 Zane Maloney Rodin
DNF 9 Kush Maini Invicta
21 21 Josep Maria Marti Campos
22 1 Victor Martins ART

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 2

Browse all Formula 2 articles

Author information

Will Wood
Will has been a RaceFans contributor since 2012 during which time he has covered F1 test sessions, launch events and interviewed drivers. He mainly...

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.