Antonio Felix da Costa, Porsche, Shanghai, 2024

Da Costa controls second Shanghai race as Cassidy extends championship lead

Formula E

Posted on

| Written by

Antonio Felix da Costa took his second win in three races after leading the bulk of the second Shanghai Eprix to win ahead of Jake Hughes.

The Porsche driver led the final third of the race to win by a second from the McLaren driver with Norman Nato third.

Championship leader Nick Cassidy took fourth, extending his points advantage over Pascal Wehrlein, who failed to score.

Sunday’s race was a tamer affair than Saturday’s lively opener. Where the field was bunched together over the opening phase of yesterday’s race, Sunday’s saw more single-file running.

Antonio Felix da Costa shared the early lead of the race with Stoffel Vandoorne and Norman Nato, while pole winner Hughes sat in fourth ahead of Cassidy and Mitch Evans in their Jaguars. After half distance, Da Costa assumed the lead and looked to dictate the pace.

The Porsche driver managed to pull a couple of car lengths ahead of Hughes as Nato ran in third. Da Costa had enough energy to keep his speed up over the closing laps while preventing Hughes from being able to challenge him. He took the chequered flag just under a second ahead of Hughes to claim his second official race victory of the season.

Hughes took his first podium finish in second with Nato claiming his first podium of the season in third. Championship leader Cassidy took fourth despite a broken front wing, with Jaguar team mate Evans in fifth. Vandoorne finished ahead of DS Penske team mate Jean-Eric Vergne in sixth, while Maximilian Guenther, Robin Frijns and Oliver Rowland completed the top ten.

Wehrlein fell well down the order after he suffered a puncture when clipped by Sam Bird’s McLaren exiting the opening sequence of turns. Bird was the race’s only retirement as he was later involved in a second accident at the final chicane with Nyck de Vries, which sent the Mahindra spinning towards the back of the pack.

With Wehrlein failing to finish in the points, Cassidy’s championship advantage has grown to 25 points with four races remaining. Evans is now third, ten points behind Wehrlein with Rowland a single point behind.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Race result

Pos. No. Team Driver Car
1 13 Porsche Antonio Felix da Costa Porsche 99X Electric Gen3
2 5 McLaren Jake Hughes Nissan e-4ORCE 04
3 17 Andretti Norman Nato Porsche 99X Electric Gen3
4 37 Jaguar Nick Cassidy Jaguar I-Type 6
5 9 Jaguar Mitch Evans Jaguar I-Type 6
6 2 DS Penske Stoffel Vandoorne DS E-TENSE FE23
7 25 DS Penske Jean-Eric Vergne DS E-TENSE FE23
8 7 Maserati Maximilian Guenther Maserati Tipo Folgore
9 4 Envision Robin Frijns Jaguar I-Type 6
10 22 McLaren Oliver Rowland Nissan e-4ORCE 04
11 1 Andretti Jake Dennis Porsche 99X Electric Gen3
12 16 Envision Sebastien Buemi Jaguar I-Type 6
13 48 Mahinda Edoardo Mortara Mahindra M10Electro
14 23 Nissan Sacha Fenestraz Nissan e-4ORCE 04
15 51 Abt Cupra Nico Mueller Mahindra M10Electro
16 21 Mahinda Nyck de Vries Mahindra M10Electro
17 18 Maserati Jehan Daruvala Maserati Tipo Folgore
18 3 ERT Sergio Sette Camara ERT X24
19 11 Abt Cupra Lucas di Grassi Mahindra M9Electro
20 94 Porsche Pascal Wehrlein Porsche 99X Electric Gen3
21 33 ERT Dan Ticktum ERT X24
22 8 McLaren Sam Bird Nissan e-4ORCE 04

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula E

Browse all Formula E articles

Author information

Will Wood
Will has been a RaceFans contributor since 2012 during which time he has covered F1 test sessions, launch events and interviewed drivers. He mainly...

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.