Gabriele Mini leads at the start, Formula 3, Monaco, 2024

Mini masters Monaco again after last-lap restart

Formula 3

Posted on

| Written by

Gabriele Mini successfully held off Christian Mansell to claim the Monaco feature race win and the championship lead.

The Alpine junior repeated his 2023 feature race victory on the streets of Monaco. He was never headed after holding onto the lead at the start, coming home just under a second ahead of Christian Mansell with Luke Browning third.

The top three drivers finished in the positions they started in, with little in the way of overtaking around the narrow Monaco circuit.

Mini had to face three Safety Car restarts on his way to victory over the 27-lap race. The final one came in the closing stages with Laurens van Hoepen hitting the wall at Tabac, with the Safety Car returning to the pit lane with just a single lap of racing remaining.

The Prema driver kept his cool and did not offer an opportunity to Mansell in the ART behind to fight him for victory and held on to take his first win of the season. Browning was less than a second behind Mansell in third.

Red Bull junior Arvid Lindblad took fourth with Leonardo Fornaroli in fifth. Ferrari junior driver Dino Beganovic was sixth ahead of Mari Boya, Tim Tramnitz, Joseph Loake and Oliver Goethe who took the final point in tenth.

Charlie Wurz was the race’s first retirement on the opening lap, ending up in the wall at Portier following a collision with Piotr Wisnicki. Sami Meguetounif failed to finish after being caught out by a collision between Nikola Tsolov and Noel Leon ahead of him, before Van Hoepen was the final retirement after crashing at Tabac while battling with Loake.

Mini’s victory sees him assume the lead of the championship from former leader Fornaroli, moving to 72 points. That puts him just four ahead of Browning, who finished two places behind him in third, with Fornaroli dropping to third. The next Formula 3 round will take place at Barcelona as part of the Spanish Grand Prix weekend.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 3 Monaco race two results

Position Car Driver Team
1 2 Gabriele Minì Prema
2 23 Christian Mansell ART
3 14 Luke Browning Hitech
5 3 Arvid Lindblad Prema
5 4 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident
6 1 Dino Beganovic Prema
7 12 Mari Boya Campos
8 7 Tim Tramnitz MP
9 31 Joseph Loake Rodin
10 10 Oliver Goethe Campos
11 8 Kacper Sztuka MP
12 22 Tom Smith Van Amersfoort
13 29 Callum Voisin Rodin
14 6 Santiago Ramos Trident
15 11 Sebastian Montoya Campos
16 9 Alex Dunne MP
17 18 Max Esterson Jenzer
18 26 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak PHM
19 21 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort
20 28 Josh Dufek PHM
21 16 Cian Shields Hitech
22 19 James Hedley Jenzer
23 20 Noel Leon Van Amersfoort
24 27 Nikita Bedrin PHM
25 30 Piotr Wisnicki Rodin
26 15 Martinius Stenshorne Hitech
27 25 Nikola Tsolov ART
DNF 24 Laurens Van Hoepen ART
DNF 5 Sami Meguetounif Trident
DNF 17 Charlie Wurz Jenzer

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 3

Browse all Formula 3 articles

Author information

Will Wood
Will has been a RaceFans contributor since 2012 during which time he has covered F1 test sessions, launch events and interviewed drivers. He mainly...

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.