Brawn GP

Active years: 2009


Brawn GP was formed after Honda pulled out at the end of the 2008 season.

Run by Ross Brawn, the team used the car designed for Honda to race in 2009, but fitted with a Mercedes engine. Designated BGP 001, it was instantly competitive and the team won both the constructors’ championship and the drivers’ title, the latter going to Jenson Button.

At the end of 2009 the team was taken over by Mercedes to form Mercedes Grand Prix for the 2010 F1 season. Brawn existed for just 17 races, of which it won eight.


Brackley, Northamptonshire, United Kingdom

Major team personnel

Chief executive officer: Nick Fry
Team principal: Ross Brawn
Head of aerodynamics: Loic Bigois
Deputy technical director: Jorg Zander

Previous identities: Tyrrell, BAR, Honda
Later identities: Mercedes Grand Prix

Books about Brawn GP