Force India team photograph, 2018

Racing Point / Force India

Active years: 2008-
Previous identities: Jordan (1991-2005), Midland (2006), Spyker (2007)
Find all RaceFans who support Force India
Jump to:
Major team personnel

Force India team history

Indian billionaire Vijay Mallya took over from the former Spyker team in 2008 and rebranded it Force India.

The team remains at the same base outside the Silverstone Circuit in Northamptonshire which it occupied when it originally entered Formula One as Jordan in 1991.

Having used Ferrari engines in its first season, it switched to Mercedes power in 2009. Giancarlo Fisichella nearly gave the team a breakthrough victory at Spa-Francorchamps that year, and sense then Force India has gradually strengthened its position in the midfield. So much so that in 2016 and 2017 the team finished fourth in the championship, only beaten by three teams with significantly greater resources.

However in 2018, with Mallya’s business empire facing a series of legal challenges, the team fell into administration ahead of the summer break. It was purchase by a consortium led by Lawrence Stroll, father of F1 driver Lance Stroll, and renamed as Racing Point.


View pictures of Force India’s F1 cars


Complete list of Force India F1 drivers


Racing Point Formula One Team
Dadford Road
NN12 8TJ
United Kingdom

Major team personnel

Team principal and CEO – Otmar Szafnauer
Technical director – Andrew Green
Sporting director – Andy Stevenson

Force India articles

    Browse all Force India articles