F1 Games

Shift 2: Unleashed

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

So is anyone out there thinking about getting Shift 2? It looks good – graphics, gameplay, etc. A tag-line is “Experience physical first-person racing and an unparalleled sensation of speed with the all-new helmet cam, night racing, and frighteningly real crashes.” Sounds good.

Well, I’ll warn you, in my opinion, it isn’t :( Handling model is appalling, its a struggle to keep the car on the track, even with all the assistance turned on. And I’m no newbie to racing games. To be fair, I haven’t given it long, I’ve only played it for 30 mins. But quite often for me, first impressions are right. And this has left a very bad impression. In my opinion, Shift 2 should drop the ‘f’ ;)

Does anyone else share my opinion, or think I know absolutely nothing? :D

Dan Thorn
    Participant

Have you played the original Shift? I bought it a while ago and didn’t like it that much either. Shift 2 looked like more of the same so I haven’t bothered. Might be the sort of thing I’d pick up for a tenner in a couple of years to kill a few hours.

Your disappointment seems to further proves my theory that the problem with the current crop of consoles is a distinct lack of good racing games. There’s only really Gran Turismo 5 and Forza 3 (I’m assuming that’s good cos I haven’t played it, but it looks awesome) and everything else is all very samey and very arcadey.

RIISE

The problem with the original Shift was the high speed cars would go into an uncontrollable drift when going round a corner. It was brilliant graphics and the cockpit view was brilliant.

If what you say is right I guess they haven’t made much improvement, it’s £40 i’ll save anyway.

Anonymous
    Inactive