F1

Button's sneaky tactics at first pit stop?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    gsherwinator
    Participant

Morning all, first post so bare with me.

Watched the Chinese GP back for a 3rd time (I’m a student who’s meant to be revising), and got thinking about Buttons first pitstop… Does anyone else think he pitted a lap later than he was supposed to, to disadvantage Hamilton?

My theory: Whichever team mate qualy’s fastest gets first call on pitstops so, by Jenson pitting late, Hamilton had to pit late also. Hamilton’s tyres were clearly going off quicker than Buttons and Vettels and, in the subsequent lap, he lost out to Massa too. Had they pitted when they were supposed to, I’m pretty sure Hamilton wouldn’t have come out behind Massa and possibly could have been challeneging for the lead, depending on how quick his in lap was.

Thoughts? Apologies if this has been brought up already…

robbiepblake
    Participant

When I watched the race I also thought they made a mistake by not bringing Hamilton in first, but I thought possibly that Hamilton’s fresh set of softs would’ve countered this. In the end, it did. Even if Button hadn’t pulled into the wrong pits which cost him about 4 seconds, Hamilton still would’ve got him.

Icthyes
    Participant

I don’t know if it was deliberate but McLaren nearly made an awful mistake by not bringing in Hamilton the lap before. With clean stops, they would have had Button-Hamilton-Vettel afterwards. Instead Vettel jumped both of them, DRS on Hamilton on fading tyres, pit-stop jump on Button. Had they been on the same strategy it would have been game over.

If Button did it on purpose, I don’t know. Last year in Malaysia he pitted early to try and undercut Hamilton, forcing him to pit early and ultimately costing him 5th by compromising his strategy. So the theory has some validity.

Anonymous
    Inactive