2013 Detroit Grand Prix: “Dual at Detroit”

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
  • #133231

    Resurfaced and using a slightly different layout this year:

    Keith Collantine

    Last week the IndyCars were screaming around the Indianapolis oval at 200mph, this weekend they’re street racing in Detroit.

    The Detroit race returned to the IndyCar schedule last year but this weekend’s event has undergone several major changes. And it needed to, as last year’s race was cut short due to the track surface breaking up.

    In addition to extensive resurfacing at the Belle Isle course, it has been restored to an earlier layout which features a longer straight after turn two which should allow for easier overtaking.

    And instead of one race, there will be two. This is the first of three double-header rounds for IndyCar this year – the others will take place on the Toronto and Houston street circuits.

    Qualifying takes place today (Friday) and then there’ll be a 70-lap race on Saturday and another on Sunday.

    Here’s a preview of the revised track:

    And here’s Juan Pablo Montoya’s thrilling, barrier-skimming run to pole position on this layout in 1999:


    Love to see that again, and this commentary team is really a good one to follow it with “Whoaaw” :-)


    I Could be thinking of something else, but isn’t the second race going to be a standing start as well?



    Both races at Belle Isle will have rolling starts, but the other double headers (Toronto and Houston) will have a standing start for Race 1.

    Keith Collantine

    Practice was red-flagged because of ducks on the track!

    Oli Peacock

    Dario takes pole at Detroit, but it will be EJ Viso who leads the field away for Race 1 after the Ganassi driver takes a 10 place grid drop for an engine change. Alongside Viso will be season returnee, Mike Conway, who will drive the #18 car for Coyne Racing in place of Ana Beatriz. Row 2 will be filled by fellow Brit, James Jakes and reigning champion Ryan Hunter-Reay. Other notable mentions go to Tagliani and Vautier on Row 3, while the championship leader, Marco Andretti and Indy 500 winner, Tony Kanaan could only manage Row 10

    Fer no.65

    “You ducks are really trying my patience! But you’re so cute!”

    (one for @prisoner-monkeys :P)

    Keith Collantine

    Here are the qualifying results, as noted above Franchitti has a ten-place penalty:

    1. (10) Dario Franchitti, Dallara-Honda, 01:19.3311 (106.642mph)
    2. (5) E.J. Viso, Dallara-Chevrolet, 01:19.5572 (106.339)
    3. (18) Mike Conway, Dallara-Honda, 01:19.8285 (105.977)
    4. (16) James Jakes, Dallara-Honda, 01:19.9897 (105.764)
    5. (1) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Dallara-Chevrolet, 01:20.0030 (105.746)
    6. (98) Alex Tagliani, Dallara-Honda, 01:20.3514 (105.288)
    7. (55) Tristan Vautier, Dallara-Honda, 01:22.4997 (102.546)
    8. (14) Takuma Sato, Dallara-Honda, 01:22.7164 (102.277)
    9. (77) Simon Pagenaud, Dallara-Honda, 01:22.8250 (102.143)
    10. (12) Will Power, Dallara-Chevrolet, 01:22.9537 (101.985)
    11. (6) Sebastian Saavedra, Dallara-Chevrolet, 01:26.8058 (97.459)
    12. (3) Helio Castroneves, Dallara-Chevrolet, No Time (No Speed)
    13. (2) AJ Allmendinger, Dallara-Chevrolet, 01:37.7163 (86.577)
    14. (15) Graham Rahal, Dallara-Honda, 01:30.5258 (93.454)
    15. (7) Sebastien Bourdais, Dallara-Chevrolet, 01:37.8023 (86.501)
    16. (9) Scott Dixon, Dallara-Honda, 01:30.6929 (93.282)
    17. (19) Justin Wilson, Dallara-Honda, 01:37.8891 (86.424)
    18. (78) Simona De Silvestro, Dallara-Chevrolet, 01:31.0623 (92.903)
    19. (25) Marco Andretti, Dallara-Chevrolet, 01:38.0723 (86.263)
    20. (11) Tony Kanaan, Dallara-Chevrolet, 01:31.5555 (92.403)
    21. (27) James Hinchcliffe, Dallara-Chevrolet, 01:38.2000 (86.151)
    22. (4) Ryan Briscoe, Dallara-Chevrolet, 01:31.6222 (92.336)
    23. (67) Josef Newgarden, Dallara-Honda, 01:38.8651 (85.571)
    24. (20) Ed Carpenter, Dallara-Chevrolet, 01:33.3912 (90.587)
    25. (83) Charlie Kimball, Dallara-Honda, 01:44.0316 (81.321)


    Another disappointing quali for Will Power. What is going on with him and to some extent Penske this season? They completely dominated the beginning of last year and were pretty strong throughout the season. Currently Will is in 14th place in the championship while Helio is 3rd. Could not having a full-time third car be their problem in terms of setup? That said, Chip Ganassi is not doing great either (8th, 11th and 17th).


    In what order will they start the second race?

    Oli Peacock

    Mike Conway doubled up with his race 1 front row with race 2 pole! Alongside him to make an all British front row is James Jakes, while Will Power and Ryan Hunter-Reay will leave the grid from row 2. Race 1 pole man, Viso, will take P5 while yesterdays fastest man Dario Franchitti will only start 16th. Practice’s fastest man, Alex Tagliani, will round out the 25 man grid after causing a Red Flag in Group 1’s qualifing


    Can someone check I’ve done the maths right, green flag is 8.30pm UK time?

    Tom L.

    I must say, I’ve been impressed by Viso this year. Consistency has historically been his problem, but this year he’s been consistently qualifying and racing up at the sharp end, even if the results haven’t always gone his way for one reason or another. He’s also cut out the unnecessary accidents – as far as I remember, the only one he’s had so far was when he was taken out by Hinchcliffe at Long Beach, through no fault of his own. Looks like moving to Andretti was the right move for him, I think he’ll get a big result soon.


    Official Results – Chevrolet Indy Dual
    in Detroit – Race 1

    1. Mike Conway
    2. Ryan Hunter-Reay
    3. Justin Wilson
    4. Scott Dixon
    5. Helio Castroneves
    6. Dario Franchitti
    7. Josef Newgarden
    8. Will Power
    9. Graham Rahal
    10. James Jakes
    11. Tristan Vautier
    12. Simon Pagenaud
    13. Tony Kanaan
    14. Charlie Kimball
    15. James Hinchcliffe
    16. Simona De Silvestro
    17. E.J. Viso
    18. Ed Carpenter
    19. Takuma Sato
    20. Marco Andretti
    21. Ryan Briscoe
    22. Sebastian Saavedra
    23. Alex Tagliani
    24. Sebastien Bourdais
    25. AJ Allmendinger

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.