2007 championship final standings

Posted on

Written by

Kimi Raikkonen, Felipe Massa, Fernando Alonso, Ferrari, 2007 | Ferrari MediaKimi Raikkonen prevailed in the closes ever finish to a championship between three drivers. Lewis Hamilton and Fernando Alonso both ended the season a single point behind the Finn.

Ferrari were crowned constructors’ champions at the Belgian Grand Prix after McLaren’s exclusion from the championship.

As McLaren will not have the world champion driving for them next year they will likely end up using car numbers 22 and 23.

Drivers’ championship

1. Kimi Raikkonen 110
2. Lewis Hamilton 109*
3. Fernando Alonso 109
4. Felipe Massa 94
5. Nick Heidfeld 61
6. Robert Kubica 39
7. Heikki Kovalainen 30
8. Giancarlo Fisichella 21
9. Nico Rosberg 20
10. David Coulthard 14
11. Alexander Wurz 13
12. Mark Webber 10
13. Jarno Trulli 8
14. Sebastian Vettel 6**
15. Jenson Button 6
16. Ralf Schumacher 5
17. Takuma Sato 4
18. Vitantonio Liuzzi 3
19. Adrian Sutil 1

Did not score: Christijan Albers, Rubens Barrichello, Anthony Davidson, Kazuki Nakajima, Scott Speed, Sakon Yamamoto, Markus Winkelhock

*More second places than Fernando Alonso
**More fourth places than Jenson Button

Constructors’ championship

1. Ferrari 204
2. BMW 101
3. Renault 51
4. Williams-Toyota 33
5. Red Bull-Renault 24
6. Toyota 13
7. Scuderia Toro Rosso-Ferrari 8
8. Honda 6
9. Super Aguri-Honda 4
10. Spyker-Ferrari 1

McLaren-Mercedes were excluded from the constructors’ championship. They would have been champions with 218 points. No other team failed to score.

Related links

Tags: f1 / formula one / formula 1 / grand prix / motor sport

Author information

Keith Collantine
Lifelong motor sport fan Keith set up RaceFans in 2005 - when it was originally called F1 Fanatic. Having previously worked as a motoring...

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.

9 comments on “2007 championship final standings”

  1. Thats a shame for rubens, hes one of those drivers you want to see scoring points, well now hes left Ferrari any way,

  2. Vettel finished ahead of Button in the championship. Hilarious.

    1. Button car was slower than vettels.
      Yet they got equal points

  3. BMW and Wiliams are under investigation, so these might yet change, both at the top and middle of both tables


  4. Correct me if I’m wrong Keith, but if you take out the 15 points that McLaren scored in Hungary, which they wouldn’t count anyway, that would leave them at 203, not 218, so Ferrari would’ve been constructors champions anyway… As the commentators on Fox Sports Latin America said: “this is divine justice”.

  5. Bigotez,

    Yes I was just about to ask that question too.

  6. It’s certainly a point of conjecture and you’re entirely right about the Hungary penalty, but as their appeal against the penalty was dropped following their exclusion from the constructors’ championship it’s impossible to say for sure.

  7. I would go for the supossition of McLaren not being docked of all constructor championship points, still the Hungarian GP points would not count anyway, they would’ve lost the crown in the last race for one point. We’d have to wait anyway for the result of the appeal from McLaren to the BMW/Williams issue on the Brazilian GP.

Comments are closed.