Stenshorne holds off Lindblad for first F3 win in sprint race

Formula 3

Posted on

| Written by

Hitech driver Martinius Stenshorne successfully held off Red Bull junior Arvid Lindblad to take victory in the Albert Park sprint race.

Stenshorne passed reverse grid pole sitter Laurens van Hoepen before keeping Lindblad at bay to take his first win in the

Van Hoepen led from pole early on but traded the lead with Stenshorne throughout the early laps before Stenshorne was able to finally get and stay ahead. Lindblad rose up to second place ahead of Van Hoepen before a Safety Car in the later laps cancelled out Stenshorne’s lead.

Over the final four laps of the race, Stenshorne successfully kept his cool under pressure from Lindblad behind to escape out of DRS range and complete the last laps to take victory, with Lindblad securing his second podium in as many sprint races to start the season.

Van Hoepen held onto the final podium position in third ahead of Mari Boya and Oliver Goethe. Ferrari academy driver Dino Beganovic had to scrap to claim sixth place with Gabriele Mini and Nikita Bedrin completing the points scorers from the round.

Williams junior Luke Browning, the championship leader following the opening round in Bahrain, fell out of contention early, pulling into the pits at the end of lap five before continuing. PHM driver Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak also retired after being hit by Van Amersfoort driver Tommy Smith.

The feature race on Sunday will see Leonardo Fornaroli start from pole, ahead of Alpine junior Mini on the front row with Beganovic third.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 3 Australia race one results

115Martinius StenshorneHitech
23Arvid LindbladPrema
324Laurens Van HoepenART
412Mari BoyaCampos
510Oliver GoetheCampos
61Dino BeganovicPrema
72Gabriele MinìPrema
827Nikita BedrinPHM
99Alex DunneMP
1011Sebastian MontoyaCampos
114Leonardo FornaroliTrident
1223Christian MansellART
1317Charlie WurzJenzer
147Tim TramnitzMP
1531Joseph LoakeRodin
1619Matías ZagazetaJenzer
175Sami MeguetounifTrident
1829Callum VoisinRodin
1918Max EstersonJenzer
2021Sophia FloerschVan Amersfoort
2125Nikola TsolovART
2228Josh DufekPHM
2330Piotr WisnickiRodin
248Kacper SztukaMP
2522Tom SmithVan Amersfoort
266Santiago RamosTrident
2716Cian ShieldsHitech
2814Luke BrowningHitech
DNF26Tasanapol InthraphuvasakPHM
DNF20Noel LeonVan Amersfoort

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 3

Browse all Formula 3 articles

Author information

Will Wood
Will has been a RaceFans contributor since 2012 during which time he has covered F1 test sessions, launch events and interviewed drivers. He mainly...

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.