Active years: 1964-1968; 2006-2008
Previous identities: Tyrrell, BAR
Subsequent identities: Brawn, Mercedes


Honda made a brief appearance in Formula 1 in the sixties and scored a couple of victories. But it achieved more prolonged success as an engine supplier to Williams and McLaren in the 1980s and 1990s.

It pulled out after 1992 but versions of its engines were developed by tuners Mugen Honda. The company then returned to full-time engine supply with BAR in 2000 before taking over the team ahead of the 2006 season.

The Japanese Grand Prix was held at Honda’s track Suzuka from 1987-2006 before moving to Toyota’s Fuji circuit.

At the end of 2008 Honda announced it was putting its F1 team up for sale.


Brackley, Northamptonshire, United Kingdom

Major team personnel

Chief executive officer: Nick Fry
Team principal: Ross Brawn
General manager, Honda motorsport: Yasuhiro Wada
President of Honda racing development: Hiroshi Abe
Head of aerodynamics: Loic Bigois
Head of race and test engineering: Steve Clark
Deputy technical managing director: Shuhei Nakamoto
Deputy technical director: Jorg Zander
Director of strategy and business planning: Otmar Szafnauer
Director of advanced research: Jacky Eeckerlaert
Sporting director: Ron Meadows
Chief engineer: Craig Wilson
Senior race engineer (car no. 1): Andrew Shovlin
Senior race engineer (car no. 2): Jock Clear

More articles about Honda