Pole for Smolyar, Ushijima loses front row start over track limits violation

Formula 3

Posted on

| Written by

Alexander Smolyar took pole for the Hungaroring Formula 3 round as Reece Ushijima lost second on the grid with his final time deleted for track limits.

Smolyar took his first pole position in FIA Formula 3 since the 2020 round in Hungary, making the Hungaroring the only track the MP Motorsport driver has ever set the pole lap on in the series.

Track limits played a significant role in the session, with both Ushijima and Oliver Goethe both having fast lap times deleted for violations, eventually dropping them outside the top ten in the final order.

As always with Formula 3’s 30-car field, the track was crowded and with many drivers picking the same times to head out onto the track, traffic became a severe problem. Most drivers did an initial run in the first ten minutes of the session and then reappeared from the pits in the final fifteen minutes.

The Trident drivers initially seemed to have the upper hand, with Zane Maloney setting an early quickest time and at one point it was an all-Trident top three with Johnny Edgar leading his two team mates.

However, Smolyar set the fastest time with ten minutes left in the session and appeared untouchable from then on. He steadily improved his lap times, with his final lap to the chequered flag proving his fastest, a 1’32.740, to be a tenth of a second faster than Maloney’s best time.

The session was relatively incident-free. However, there was a late red flag that saw the timing paused with three minutes left. Zak O’Sullivan came to a stop on the pit straight, without contact, seeing the session stopped for his Carlin to be recovered.

Goethe, who is making his FIA Formula 3 debut this weekend, qualified 12th, giving him partially-reversed-grid pole for tomorrow’s sprint race.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 3 Hungary qualifying results

Position Car Driver Team
1 11 Alexander Smolyar MP
2 3 Zane Maloney Trident
3 6 Oliver Bearman Prema
4 4 Arthur Leclerc Prema
5 8 Gregoire Saucy ART
6 12 Kush Maini MP
7 5 Jak Crawford Prema
8 7 Victor Martins ART
9 10 Caio Collet MP
10 18 Isack Hadjar Hitech
11 29 Franco Colapinto HWA
12 21 Oliver Goethe Campos
13 22 Pepe Marti Campos
14 2 Roman Stanek Trident
15 1 Jonny Edgar Trident
16 20 Alexander Smolyar MP
17 30 Rafael Villagomez HWA
18 9 Juan Manuel Correa ART
19 31 Reece Ushijima HWA
20 25 William Alatalo Jenzer
21 17 Kaylen Frederick Hitech
22 26 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin
23 23 Ido Cohen Jenzer
24 15 Christian Mansell Charouz
25 27 Brad Benavides Carlin
26 16 Francesco Pizzi Charouz
27 19 Nazim Azman Hitech
28 28 Enzo Trulli Carlin
29 14 Laszlo Toth Charouz
30 24 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 3

Browse all Formula 3 articles

Author information

Hazel Southwell
Hazel is a motorsport and automotive journalist with a particular interest in hybrid systems, electrification, batteries and new fuel technologies....

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.

1 comments on “Pole for Smolyar, Ushijima loses front row start over track limits violation”

  1. There are Two.. Alexander Smolyar ??

Comments are closed.