Sergio Perez, Force India, Baku City Circuit, 2018

Perez avoids penalty for DRS infringement and keeps podium

2018 Azerbaijan Grand Prix

Posted on

| Written by

Sergio Perez has kept his podium finish in the Azerbaijan Grand Prix following an investigation for a DRS infringement.

The Force India driver incorrectly activated his DRS twice during the race but the stewards ruled this had been in error and he did not overtake any cars as a result of it.

Lance Stroll and Kevin Magnussen were also cleared of activating their DRS incorrectly during the race.

Drivers had to operate DRS manually at times during the race because of a problem with one of the detection points. The three drivers experienced problems with the procedure to activate their DRSs manually.

“It is apparent that to move to the ‘default’ setting if the DRS system malfunctions, requires the team to convey to the driver, by radio, a series of steps to adjust various settings,” the stewards noted.

“In this case, the DRS light came on and as this was the first time the driver had experienced a default operation for the DRS, there was some misunderstanding of the procedure and the driver incorrectly activated the system manually. The system however, was only activated twice, each time for a short distance before the driver and team recognised the error.

“The stewards are satisfied that no car was overtaken through this incorrect use.”

2018 F1 season

Browse all 2018 F1 season articles

Author information

Keith Collantine
Lifelong motor sport fan Keith set up RaceFans in 2005 - when it was originally called F1 Fanatic. Having previously worked as a motoring...

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.

6 comments on “Perez avoids penalty for DRS infringement and keeps podium”

  1. Were the DRS activations by Perez/Stroll/KMag because the automatic system failed and all drivers were allowed to manually trigger it?

    1. Ah, the story was updated in the meantime, to answer my question!

      Nothing to see here, move along now :-)

  2. The right decision.

  3. Is it just me or did Chico put on some pounds?

    1. Looks like it. But everyone looks chubby in that pic. Maybe it’s a special camera lens? ;)

  4. Somehow I am not surprised. It was always going to be tricky to replicate the DRS automated procedure manually, and the stewards had bigger fish to fry than inadvertent error – even if they would have been in their rights to essay a penalty to Perez, Stroll and Magnussen.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments are moderated. See the Comment Policy and FAQ for more.
If the person you're replying to is a registered user you can notify them of your reply using '@username'.