Hadjar wins wet-to-dry Formula 3 feature race

Formula 3

Posted on

| Written by

Red Bull junior Isack Hadjar won the Austrian FIA Formula 3 feature race from pole position in drying conditions which saw drivers struggle with tyres.

The race started in wet conditions, with all drivers obliged to take wet tyres for the 25 laps. Isack Hadjar had claimed pole during Friday qualifying, with championship leader Victor Martins lining up alongside him.

It was a rolling start, as rain continued to pour down on the track. The Safety Sar came in after the formation lap but drivers continued in treacherously wet conditions with massive amounts of standing water on track.

Hadjar held the lead on the rolling start and he and Martins effectively separated from the pack for the rest of the race. The only wobbly moment for Hadjar was on lap two, when he ran wide at turn one and nearly allowed Martins an opportunity to overtake.

Martins made an error on lap four, sending him into a spin and nearly losing touch with Hadjar out of turn nine but able to continue having held onto second as the chasing field had been spread out due to the conditions.

The rain had stopped by lap nine and a drying line was emerging, leaving many drivers leaving the racing line to cool their wet tyres over the damp patches that still remained around the circuit.

Several clashes between drivers impacted the race. Zdenek Chovanec and Federico Malvestiti hit each other on lap 15 to no real effect and Chovanec again made contact with team mate Francesco Pizzi, leaving him stuck in a gravel trap.

Despite a late-race Safety Car, from laps 21 to 23, Hadjar controlled the race and was able to stay out ahead. Martins took second place, with Oliver Bearman completing the podium.

Martins holds the championship lead but by just one point, ahead of rookie Hadjar, on 98 and 97 points respectively.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 3 Austria race two results

Position Car Driver Team
1 18 Isack Hadjar Hitech
2 7 Victor Martins ART
3 6 Oliver Bearman Prema
4 4 Arthur Leclerc Prema
5 3 Zane Maloney Trident
6 2 Roman Stanek Trident
7 29 Franco Colapinto HWA
8 11 Alexander Smolyar MP
9 25 William Alatalo Jenzer
10 23 Ido Cohen Jenzer
11 9 Juan Manuel Correa ART
12 20 David Vidales Campos
13 31 Reece Ushijima HWA
14 8 Gregoire Saucy ART
15 30 Rafael Villagomez HWA
16 19 Alexander Smolyar MP
17 26 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin
18 28 Enzo Trulli Carlin
19 14 Laszlo Toth Charouz
20 27 Brad Benavides Carlin
21 1 Jonny Edgar Trident
22 5 Jak Crawford Prema
23 17 Kaylen Frederick Hitech
24 16 Francesco Pizzi Charouz
25 12 Kush Maini MP
26 24 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer
27 10 Caio Collet MP
28 15 Zdenek Chovanec Charouz
29 22 Pepe Marti Campos

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 3

Browse all Formula 3 articles

Author information

Hazel Southwell
Hazel is a motorsport and automotive journalist with a particular interest in hybrid systems, electrification, batteries and new fuel technologies....

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.

1 comments on “Hadjar wins wet-to-dry Formula 3 feature race”

  1. I happened to watch this race, it was quite a bit of water, possibly would have been a red flag for F1 cars with such weather!

Comments are closed.