F3 grid complete as Hitech sign GB3 champion Luke Browning

Formula 3

Posted on

| Written by

The 2023 Formula 3 grid has been completed with the signing of Luke Browning at Hitech GP.

Browning won the GB3 title with the team last year and as part of his prize recently joined them in F3 pre-season testing at Bahrain. Having previously lacked the funding, he has now secured the budget to race in F3 just in time as the season starts this weekend.

The 21-year-old began racing cars since 2016, starting off in junior sports and touring cars. That culminated in coming third in the Ginetta Junior championship in 2018, after which he switched to single-seater racing.

Through 2019 and 2020 Browning raced in British Formula 4, winning two races as a rookie and then taking the title in his sophomore season with seven victories. For 2021 he then moved across to Germany’s ADAC F4 championship, and won twice to come third in the standings.

“I’m excited to announce I’ll be taking the step up to FIA F3 with Hitech. We had a fantastic season in GB3 last year. These past 12 months I have really developed as a driver with their guidance and professionalism,” said Browning.

“I am very thankful to the people who continuously believe in me and have made this possible. I am under no illusions how competitive FIA F3 is and stepping into the car for the first time in February will be a steep learning curve before we head to Bahrain. I feel confident with everyone at Hitech that I can hit the ground running.”

Browning started this year by making the step up from GB3 to Formula Regional in the Middle Eastern championship. He contested two rounds, scoring twice and coming 26th in the points table.

He will be team mate to Alpine junior Gabriele Mini and Red Bull junior Sebastian Montoya at Hitech.

2023 Formula 3 grid

Team Drivers
ART Kaylen Frederick Gregoire Saucy Nikola Tsolov
Campos Hugh Barter Christian Mansell Josep Maria Marti
Hitech Gabriele Mini Sebastian Montoya Luke Browning
Jenzer Taylor Barnard Alejandro Garcia Nikita Bedrin
MP Mari Boya Franco Colapinto Jonny Edgar
PHM by Charouz Sophia Floersch Roberto Faria Piotr Wisnicki
Prema Paul Aron Dino Beganovic Zak O’Sullivan
Rodin Carlin Hunter Yeany Oliver Gray Ido Cohen
Trident Gabriel Bortoleto Leonardo Fornaroli Oliver Goethe
Van Amersfoort Caio Collet Tommy Smith Rafael Villagomez

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 3

Browse all Formula 3 articles

Author information

Ida Wood
Often found in junior single-seater paddocks around Europe doing journalism and television commentary, or dabbling in teaching photography back in the UK. Currently based...

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.