Edgar claims first F3 win in finale as Prema seal teams’ title

Formula 3

Posted on

| Written by

Jonny Edgar clinched his first Formula 3 victory after a final-lap restart in the last race of the season at Monza.

The MP driver crossed the line 0.2 seconds ahead of Zak O’Sullivan after a one-lap sprint to the flag. Taylor Barnard completed an all-British podium.

O’Sullivan’s podium ensured Prema clinch the teams’ championship, after Trident’s Gabriel Bortoleto sealed the drivers’ title on Friday.

Edgar qualified fourth for the final feature race of 2023 but moved up one place before the race even began. Pole-winner Oliver Goethe suffered a throttle problem as he returned to the grid after the formation lap and pulled over at the pit lane exit where he retired.

Caio Collet, second on the grid, therefore effectively inherited pole position and led the field around for a second formation lap. Paul Aron moved up to second ahead of Edgar and Bortoleto.

Collet got away cleanly and kept his lead. Behind him a three-way battle emerged for second. Edgar attacked Aron at Curva Grande and completed his pass at the Roggia. It was a double blow for Aron, however, as seconds later he also lost third to Bortoleto at the chicane.

Roggia was a hotbed for drama, as yesterday’s sprint winner Franco Colapinto went into the barrier at the chicane’s exit. The Safety Car was therefore deployed at the end of the opening lap for the first time, and by no means the last.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

The race restarted on lap four and the front runners initially held their places. That then all changed on lap six.

Edgar claimed the lead after overtaking Collet down the inside of Rettifilo, while Bortoleto defended third from O’Sullivan and Aron. The new champion misjudged his braking, however, and went into the escape road, dropping behind O’Sullivan, Aron and Leonardo Fornaroli.

It got worse for Bortoleto at the next corner. He dropped to 10th after a trip through the gravel trap at the Roggia, which immediately put him under pressure from Gregoire Saucy. The two tapped wheels at Lesmo 1, sending Saucy in the barrier at the next corner after suffering a puncture.

The Safety Car reappeared, following which the race restarted on lap nine. Aron’s race was soon ruined, as Fornaroli pushed him into the gravel at Rettifilo’s exit which dropped the Mercedes junior from fourth.

Collet reclaimed the lead at the Roggia on lap nine, but Edgar was not to be denied and retook the place at Lesmo 1. Their battle continued, Collet retaking the lead again at Rettifilo on lap 12, but next time around before Edgar claimed the place back at the same place.

That lap, however, Sebastian Montoya was knocked into the gravel at Roggia by Gabriele Mini, prompting the third appearance of the Safety Car. The race restarted on lap 16 and while Edgar kept his lead, O’Sullivan overtook Collet for second at Rettifilo.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

But within a lap the Safety Car was back. Pepe Marti was hit from behind on the inside of Curva Grande. This sent him into the gravel, while further back Ido Cohen also spun into the barrier there.

Once that was cleared up, there was only time for a single racing lap. Edgar managed the final restart brilliantly, catching his rivals unaware by sprinting for the line early, and out-running them to the Rettifilo while they scrapped between themselves.

But there was a late change for the podium positions, as Barnard overtook Collet for third on the outside of Lesmo 1. O’Sullivan was next in his sights, but the chequered flag came just in time for the Williams junior.

Edgar, O’Sullivan and Barnard therefore formed an all-British podium. Collet took fourth ahead of Bortoleto, with Mari Boya, Aron, Christian Mansell, Dino Beganovic and Rafael Villagomez completing the point positions.

It means Bortoleto finishes the season on top of the championship with 164 points, 45 points ahead of runner-up O’Sullivan. Aron, Colapinto and Marti finished the top five respectively.

Prema have therefore topped the teams’ championship after overcoming a late charge from Trident, with 19 points separating the top two.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 3 Italy race two results

112Jonny EdgarMP
23Zak O’SullivanPrema
327Taylor BarnardJenzer
417Caio ColletVan Amersfoort
55Gabriel BortoletoTrident
611Mari BoyaMP
71Paul AronPrema
824Christian MansellCampos
92Dino BeganovicPrema
1018Rafael VillagomezVan Amersfoort
1131Woohyun ShinPHM Racing by Charouz
1221Francesco SimonazziRodin Carlin
139Nikola TsolovART
1429Maxwell EstersonPHM Racing by Charouz
1525Josh DufekCampos
164Caio ColletMP
1720Oliver GrayRodin Carlin
1816Luke BrowningHitech
1915Gabriele MinìHitech
2019Tom SmithVan Amersfoort
2128Alejandro GarcíaJenzer
DNF30Roberto FariaPHM Racing by Charouz
DNF26Nikita BedrinJenzer
DNF23Pepe MartíCampos
DNF22Ido CohenRodin Carlin
DNF14Sebastian MontoyaHitech
DNF7Kaylen FrederickART
DNF8Gregoire SaucyART
DNF10Franco ColapintoMP
DNF6Oliver GoetheTrident

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 3

Browse all Formula 3 articles

Author information

Ed Hardy
In 2019, Ed started working on Formula 1 writing articles during race weekends. Alongside that, he also built up experience in football working on...

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.

One comment on “Edgar claims first F3 win in finale as Prema seal teams’ title”

  1. Hey RaceFans, whats wrong? Caio Collet finished twice in a race this weekend for the second time. Now 4th and 16th.

Comments are closed.