Scott Dixon, Ganassi, Texas, IndyCar, 2021

Dixon leads McLaughlin home in dominant Texas performance


Posted on

| Written by

Scott Dixon dominated a largely processional third round of the IndyCar season at Texas Motor Speedway and moved into the championship lead.

The start of the race was brought forward by around half an hour after rain earlier in the day disrupted proceedings at the superspeedway. Despite concerns over further showers in the area, the 212-race ran as scheduled.

The qualifying session had to be called off, however, so the race began with the drivers in championship order. That meant Barber winner Alex Palou led the field around to the green flag, followed by Will Power, Dixon and last weekend’s victor Colton Herta.

Within two laps, Palou’s team mate Dixon had the lead. He took Power at the start and moved past his fellow Ganassi pilot as the third lap began. From there on he controlled proceedings.

Only in the final stages of the race did Dixon’s position look under any serious threat. With 39 laps of running remaining after the final caution period, the leaders were likely to catch traffic in the final laps. Dixon wisely backed off early on to ensure he didn’t catch them too quickly, but as the laps ticked down the stragglers were coming into view and the driver in second place was breathing down his neck.

Scott Dixon, Ganassi, Texas, IndyCar, 2021
Dixon hit the front early and stayed there
Dixon crossed the finishing line just two-tenths of a second ahead of his closest pursuer, rookie Scott McLaughlin in his fourth IndyCar start and first oval race. The two New Zealanders embraced in the pits afterwards, the Penske driver having worked his way forward from 15th on the grid to chase Dixon home.

Pato O’Ward made a daringly early second pit stop as he climbed from 11th to third. The McLaren SP driver made good use of his fresh rubber after his lap 113 pit stop to move up the order, and benefitted from the timing of the final caution period on lap 160.

Having taken pole by default, Palou slipped to fourth at the flag. Behind him were Graham Rahal and Josef Newgarden, who both made passes at the final restart, before the Penske driver lost his position to the RLL man.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Nonetheless, Newgarden salvaged a good result after being sent to the back of the field earlier in the race. He triggered the day’s first caution period by tipping a bemused Sebastien Bourdais into the barriers on lap 56, earning his penalty for avoidable contact.

Having started sixth, Jack Harvey stayed up at the sharp end until the final restart, when Newgarden and Rahal pierced his defences. The latter found these were very robust, and though race control ruled Harvey’s firm move on the back straight was legal, Rahal vowed they would “have a man-to-man talk about that” afterwards.

Alexander Rossi took eighth for Andretti, followed by Takuma Sato and Simon Pagenaud. Power’s first pit stop was timed disastrously – Bourdais crashed moments later – and he fell into the pack, taking the flag 14th behind Tony Kanaan (in for Jimmie Johnson on the ovals), Ed Jones and Felix Rosenqvist. Pietro Fittipaldi came 15th in the car Romain Grosjean drives on road and street courses.

The evening’s other retirements included James Hinchcliffe, who discovered how gripless the wide line was when he understeered onto it as Felix Rosenqvist passed him. Hinchcliffe smacked the wall hard.

Herta was also out of luck. Running well inside the top 10 with 20 laps to go, a right-rear brake failure forced him into the pits and caused a blaze which was quickly extinguished.

Providing the weather continues to co-operate, he and the other 23 drivers shouldn’t have to wait long for another chance to score: The next race at the track will begin in 18 hours’ time.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Race result

19Scott Dixon
23Scott McLaughlin
35Pato O’Ward
410Alex Palou
515Graham Rahal
62Josef Newgarden
760Jack Harvey
827Alexander Rossi
930Takuma Sato
1022Simon Pagenaud
1148Tony Kanaan
1218Ed Jones
137Felix Rosenqvist
1412Will Power
1551Pietro Fittipaldi
1628Ryan Hunter-Reay
1720Ed Carpenter
184Dalton Kellett
198Marcus Ericsson
2021Rinus VeeKay
2159Conor Daly
2226Colton Herta
2329James Hinchcliffe
2414Sebastien Bourdais


Browse all IndyCar articles

Author information

Keith Collantine
Lifelong motor sport fan Keith set up RaceFans in 2005 - when it was originally called F1 Fanatic. Having previously worked as a motoring...

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.

Posted on Categories IndyCarTags , ,

Promoted content from around the web | Become a RaceFans Supporter to hide this ad and others

  • 2 comments on “Dixon leads McLaughlin home in dominant Texas performance”

    1. Pretty impressive by Mclaughlan but of course fortunate timing with the safety car. Great to see a Scott and NZ 1-2!

    2. Can anyone beat Dixon? He is a freak.

    Comments are closed.