Power and McLaughlin lock out front rows for both Iowa races


Posted on

| Written by

Will Power had to wait nearly two hours for his chance to qualify for this weekend’s IndyCar races at Iowa Speedway, but when he finally took to the track, no other driver could match his speed as he wrapped up pole positions for both races alongside his Penske team mate Scott McLaughlin.

Qualifying was delayed for an hour and 45 minutes after a heavy rain shower washed over Iowa Speedway shortly before the early scheduled start time of half past eight in the morning. Extra time and attention were needed to sweep the track completely dry before drivers could make their qualifying runs.

Iowa’s qualifying format featured single-car, two-lap runs, where the average speed of the first lap determined the grid order for today’s 250-lap race, and the second lap determined the grid for tomorrow’s 300-lap encounter.

Power secured career pole position number 69 with a first lap average speed of 181.426mph (291.977kph), and number 70 with a second lap average speed of 181.578mph (292.221kph).

The only other driver to eclipse an average of 180mph in a lap was Scott McLaughlin, who qualified second-fastest for both races. For this afternoon’s Iowa 250, Penske made it a one-two-three sweep with Josef Newgarden starting in third, ahead of Scott Dixon and Pato O’Ward.

Colton Herta will start sixth ahead of IndyCar championship leader Alex Palou in seventh, with Romain Grosjean, David Malukas, and Marcus Ericsson rounding out the top ten for the Iowa 250.

Of note for today’s race, Jack Harvey qualified 18th but will start 26th after a nine-place grid penalty handed to him for causing the first-lap, first-corner collision at Toronto last week.

For the Iowa 300 tomorrow, Malukas will start third, sharing the second row with oval specialist Ed Carpenter in fourth. Herta will share the third row with Graham Rahal, whose sixth-place start was much better than his last attempt at qualifying on an oval this season – when he was bumped from the Indianapolis 500 field.

Newgarden, Helio Castroneves, Dixon, and Ericsson make up the rest of the Iowa 300 top ten starting positions. Toronto winner Christian Lundgaard will have to come from 19th and 21st on the grid in this weekend’s races after a far more pedestrian run in qualifying.

Rookie Benjamin Pedersen did not take part in the session after his car failed scrutineering before qualifying began. He’ll start 28th and last in both races.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Iowa 250 qualifying results

112Will PowerPenskeChevrolet
23Scott McLaughlinPenskeChevrolet
32Josef NewgardenPenskeChevrolet
49Scott DixonGanassiHonda
55Pato O’WardMcLarenChevrolet
626Colton HertaAndrettiHonda
710Alex PalouGanassiHonda
828Romain GrosjeanAndrettiHonda
918David MalukasCoyne/HMDHonda
108Marcus EricssonGanassiHonda
1111Takuma SatoGanassiHonda
1229Devlin DeFrancescoAndrettiHonda
1315Graham RahalRLLHonda
1406Helio CastronevesMeyer ShankHonda
1521Rinus VeeKayCarpenterChevrolet
1620Ryan Hunter-ReayCarpenterChevrolet
1727Kyle KirkwoodAndrettiHonda
1833Ed CarpenterCarpenterChevrolet
1945Christian LundgaardRLLHonda
207Alexander RossiMcLarenChevrolet
216Felix RosenqvistMcLarenChevrolet
2260Conor DalyMeyer ShankHonda
2377Callum IlottJuncos HollingerChevrolet
2478Agustin CanapinoJuncos HollingerChevrolet
2514Santino FerrucciFoytChevrolet
2630Jack HarveyRLLHonda
2751Sting Ray RobbCoyne/RWRHonda
2855Benjamin PedersenFoytChevrolet

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Iowa 300 qualifying results

112Will PowerPenskeChevrolet
23Scott McLaughlinPenskeChevrolet
318David MalukasCoyne/HMDHonda
433Ed CarpenterCarpenterChevrolet
526Colton HertaAndrettiHonda
615Graham RahalRLLHonda
72Josef NewgardenPenskeChevrolet
806Helio CastronevesMeyer ShankHonda
99Scott DixonGanassiHonda
108Marcus EricssonGanassiHonda
115Pato O’WardMcLarenChevrolet
1210Alex PalouGanassiHonda
1311Takuma SatoGanassiHonda
1421Rinus VeeKayCarpenterChevrolet
1560Conor DalyMeyer ShankHonda
166Felix RosenqvistMcLarenChevrolet
1727Kyle KirkwoodAndrettiHonda
187Alexander RossiMcLarenChevrolet
1929Devlin DeFrancescoAndrettiHonda
2028Romain GrosjeanAndrettiHonda
2145Christian LundgaardRLLHonda
2230Jack HarveyRLLHonda
2378Agustin CanapinoJuncos HollingerChevrolet
2477Callum IlottJuncos HollingerChevrolet
2520Ryan Hunter-ReayCarpenterChevrolet
2651Sting Ray RobbCoyne/RWRHonda
2714Santino FerrucciFoytChevrolet
2855Benjamin PedersenFoytChevrolet

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free


Browse all IndyCar articles

Author information

RJ O'Connell
Motorsport has been a lifelong interest for RJ, both virtual and ‘in the carbon’, since childhood. RJ picked up motorsports writing as a hobby...

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.