2018 Russian Grand Prix interactive data: lap charts, times and tyres

2018 Russian Grand Prix

Posted on

| Written by

The 2018 edition of the Russian Grand Prix did little to alter the Sochi Autodrom’s reputation for producing processional races.

But the two Red Bulls starting from the back of the grid meant there was at least some chance of action during the race. And so it proved as Max Verstappen and Daniel Ricciardo rose through the field to take the fifth and sixth-place finishes which were widely expected despite their disadvantaged grid positions.

Verstappen made quicker progress as Ricciardo damaged his front wing on the first lap. Indeed, Verstappen was already into fifth by lap eight, and by running long on his first stint he led more laps than anyone.

Charles Leclerc emerged from the midfield with impressive pace, finishing well clear of Kevin Magnussen and able to stay on the lead lap until the end. He got himself into clear air by passing the Haas on lap two.

But for most drivers the Russian Grand Prix was a case of following the driver ahead of them. The Red Bulls aside, most of the overtaking moves in the race were a consequence of team orders, and even Lewis Hamilton’s move on Sebastian Vettel was aided by the other Mercedes holding up the Ferrari.

2018 Russian Grand Prix lap chart

The positions of each driver on every lap. Click name to highlight, right-click to reset. Toggle drivers using controls below:

Go ad-free for just £1 per month

>> Find out more and sign up

2018 Russian Grand Prix race chart

The gaps between each driver on every lap compared to the leader’s average lap time. Very large gaps omitted. Scroll to zoom, drag to pan and right-click to reset. Toggle drivers using controls below:

Position change

DriverStart positionLap one position changeRace position change
Lewis Hamilton201
Valtteri Bottas10-1
Sebastian Vettel300
Kimi Raikkonen400
Daniel Ricciardo18012
Max Verstappen19614
Sergio Perez80-2
Esteban Ocon6-1-3
Lance Stroll140-1
Sergey Sirotkin13-2-5
Nico Hulkenberg1200
Carlos Sainz Jnr110-6
Pierre Gasly17-3
Brendon Hartley201
Romain Grosjean90-2
Kevin Magnussen50-3
Fernando Alonso1602
Stoffel Vandoorne15-2-1
Marcus Ericsson100-3
Charles Leclerc710

2018 Russian Grand Prix lap times

All the lap times by the drivers (in seconds, very slow laps excluded). Scroll to zoom, drag to pan and toggle drivers using the control below:

Go ad-free for just £1 per month

>> Find out more and sign up

2018 Russian Grand Prix fastest laps

Each driver’s fastest lap:

RankDriverCarFastest lapGapOn lap
1Valtteri BottasMercedes1’35.86150
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes1’35.9160.05550
3Sebastian VettelFerrari1’35.9900.12950
4Max VerstappenRed Bull-TAG Heuer1’36.2830.42245
5Daniel RicciardoRed Bull-TAG Heuer1’36.3450.48441
6Kimi RaikkonenFerrari1’36.6110.75047
7Marcus EricssonSauber-Ferrari1’37.9312.07039
8Kevin MagnussenHaas-Ferrari1’38.0152.15452
9Charles LeclercSauber-Ferrari1’38.1072.24652
10Romain GrosjeanHaas-Ferrari1’38.2442.38346
11Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes1’38.3002.43947
12Esteban OconForce India-Mercedes1’38.3662.50552
13Nico HulkenbergRenault1’39.1083.24752
14Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes1’39.4353.57444
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren-Renault1’39.5903.72944
16Carlos Sainz JnrRenault1’39.7313.87035
17Sergey SirotkinWilliams-Mercedes1’39.8383.97743
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren-Renault1’39.9224.06141
19Pierre GaslyToro Rosso-Honda1’44.0718.2103
20Brendon HartleyToro Rosso-Honda1’45.8529.9912

2018 Russian Grand Prix tyre strategies

The tyre strategies for each driver:

Stint 1Stint 2
Lewis HamiltonUltra soft (14)Soft (39)
Valtteri BottasUltra soft (12)Soft (41)
Sebastian VettelUltra soft (13)Soft (40)
Kimi RaikkonenUltra soft (18)Soft (35)
Max VerstappenSoft (43)Ultra soft (10)
Daniel RicciardoSoft (39)Ultra soft (14)
Charles LeclercHyper soft (10)Soft (43)
Kevin MagnussenHyper soft (9)Soft (43)
Esteban OconHyper soft (10)Soft (42)
Sergio PerezHyper soft (12)Soft (40)
Romain GrosjeanHyper soft (8)Soft (44)
Nico HulkenbergSoft (35)Ultra soft (17)
Marcus EricssonHyper soft (11)Soft (26)
Fernando AlonsoUltra soft (5)Soft (47)
Lance StrollUltra soft (7)Soft (45)
Stoffel VandoorneUltra soft (11)Soft (40)
Carlos Sainz JnrSoft (32)Ultra soft (19)
Sergey SirotkinUltra soft (10)Soft (41)
Pierre GaslySoft (4)
Brendon HartleyHyper soft (3)Soft (1)

Go ad-free for just £1 per month

>> Find out more and sign up

2018 Russian Grand Prix pit stop times

How long each driver’s pit stops took:

DriverTeamPit stop timeGapOn lap
1Lance StrollWilliams29.2667
2Max VerstappenRed Bull29.3700.10443
3Brendon HartleyToro Rosso29.4180.1523
4Kimi RaikkonenFerrari29.5310.26518
5Lewis HamiltonMercedes29.5510.28514
6Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren29.6360.37011
7Valtteri BottasMercedes29.7940.52812
8Sebastian VettelFerrari29.7980.53213
9Kevin MagnussenHaas29.9040.6389
10Sergey SirotkinWilliams29.9120.64610
11Sergio PerezForce India29.9240.65812
12Carlos Sainz JnrRenault30.0210.75532
13Marcus EricssonSauber30.0510.78511
14Marcus EricssonSauber30.1460.88037
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren30.3481.0825
16Charles LeclercSauber30.3971.13110
17Romain GrosjeanHaas30.4691.2038
18Nico HulkenbergRenault30.6251.35935
19Esteban OconForce India30.6421.37610
20Daniel RicciardoRed Bull37.4468.18039

2018 Russian Grand Prix

    Browse all 2018 Russian Grand Prix articles

    Author information

    Keith Collantine
    Lifelong motor sport fan Keith set up RaceFans in 2005 - when it was originally called F1 Fanatic. Having previously worked as a motoring...

    Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.

    3 comments on “2018 Russian Grand Prix interactive data: lap charts, times and tyres”

    1. On the first chart is like Max going from a water slide on his birthday!

    2. Alonso finished the race being pressured by Stroll. Vandoorne more than 20sec off the canadian.
      Unbelievable. Mclaren is the worst team in F1 at the moment.

    3. It’s good for Krxx to see his story does not hold water
      He wanted cold facts. So i guess he is to ashamed now.

      But: please stay fan of RIC he surely needs his fanbase next year!

    Comments are closed.